Dvd Encore at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 1st, 2007, 05:31 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 132
Dvd Encore

Hi guys

Slight problem with dvd encore.

I have just finished editing a wedding and I use export movie in PP2 then build dvd in Encore 2.

I let encore figure out all the settings to burn onto to a dual layer disc.

The problem I have is once the wedding is on disc theres a specific point in the wedding where it freeze's for a second then carry's on playing.

I have looked at the project in encore and it plays fine.

I have tried burning it twice onto disc and still have the same problem.

Could it be something to do with, when encore is transcoding the footage?

As anyone got idea's ?

Thanks
Wayne
Wayne Greensill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2007, 05:50 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium | Europe
Posts: 441
Try to lower your burning speed.
Ivan Snoeckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2007, 06:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Snoeckx View Post
Try to lower your burning speed.
Hi there

I can't do that i can only burn at 2.4 with dual layer.

Regards
Wayne
Wayne Greensill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2007, 07:41 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
If it's a dual layer could that be the point where the player is switching to the second layer?

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2007, 08:20 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Briscoe View Post
If it's a dual layer could that be the point where the player is switching to the second layer?

Ian
Thanks for the reply Ian.

I have got the layer break setting set to auto so I assume encore deals with the switching of the second layer?

Thanks
Wayne
Wayne Greensill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2007, 10:38 AM   #6
Still Motion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Greensill View Post
Thanks for the reply Ian.

I have got the layer break setting set to auto so I assume encore deals with the switching of the second layer?

Thanks
Wayne
Wayne,

It is my underdtanding that by setting the dual layer break porint to auto, it will just take a point at the end of the first layer. If you go in and manually set the point, you can do it between scenes, hopefully where you have a fade out and no music paying. As far as I know, you will always have that little pause, but if you put it in the right spot it is really no an issue.

Patrick
Patrick Moreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2007, 09:54 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Moreau View Post
Wayne,

It is my underdtanding that by setting the dual layer break porint to auto, it will just take a point at the end of the first layer. If you go in and manually set the point, you can do it between scenes, hopefully where you have a fade out and no music paying. As far as I know, you will always have that little pause, but if you put it in the right spot it is really no an issue.

Patrick
I believe most commercial DVD's are the same way - There is always somewhere that it jumps, it's just a matter of how noticable it is.
Kit Hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 09:28 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Moreau View Post
Wayne,

It is my underdtanding that by setting the dual layer break porint to auto, it will just take a point at the end of the first layer. If you go in and manually set the point, you can do it between scenes, hopefully where you have a fade out and no music paying. As far as I know, you will always have that little pause, but if you put it in the right spot it is really no an issue.

Patrick
This is what you have to do, Assuming the glitch is always same spot and such it is the layer switch and the only way to hide it is between scenes. Most of the time I see them around the 2 hour mark on commercial DVDs.
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 12:13 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 132
Thanks Guys for your input, very much appreciated.

Wayne
Wayne Greensill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network