Importing tracking information at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 30th, 2007, 03:17 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Importing tracking information

Is there a better way to match rotoscoped layers in Vegas than keyframing manually? I have access to tracking software, such as the one that comes with After Effects. I don't see how you can do any serious compositing without such a feature.
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 04:06 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
What do you mean by match rotoscoped layers?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 04:25 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Say you want to imprint some text on another moving layer. The text has to track to motion of the object it is imprinted on. I'm using text as an example; in reality I'm doing rig removal.
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 09:32 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
While AE is probably your best bet, another option to consider is the full version of Boris FX.
It's a lot more powerful than the lite version that comes with Vegas and Motion Tracking, Stabilization and Corner Pinning are some of it's options.
There's a trial version available and, as a Vegas user, the upgrade from lite to full is only $199 (reg. $299).
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 10:51 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
I have AE. I mean is there any way to use the tracking information in Vegas?
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 12:06 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I don't believe so.

But why not just do it in After Effects? You need to track the video in there anyways.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 02:09 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Posts: 220
I've just purchased Boris FX primarily for the motion tracking and stabilizing features.

It appears that these don't work in vegas. (Vegas 8 and the lastest build of FX 9)

Since vegas only passes the first frame to Boris it doesn't do any of the motion stuff.

Does anyone know a way around this other than purchases the Red rendering package for a thousand bucks?

I've tried opening the files in the keyframer and then saving the settings and appling them to the clip in vegas, but that didn't work.

The media 1280x720 in the Cineform HD codec.

BTW, I've combed Boris' site and it makes no mention of the motion features not supported in vegas. A poster on the creative cows forum claims that it won't work at all. :-(
I am going to be seriously bummed if I just bought a high priced coaster...
Reid Bailey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network