Text - change tracking w/ keyframes? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2007, 10:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aubrey, TX
Posts: 80
Text - change tracking w/ keyframes?

I swear I thought I've done this before, but I can't seem to remember how now (if I did it at all). I want to set keyframes to have the tracking of text increase. Basically, I want the letters on the screen to gradually move apart. Obviously we can set keyframes in the pan/crop tool for text media, but I don't see how to do it with text properties. Can't we do this?
Bobby Abernathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2007, 12:56 AM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Abernathy View Post
Can't we do this?
Oh yes we can!!

OK:

1 - In SONY Text go to the END of the Timeline and CREATE a Keyframe

2 - Then GO > Properties Tab > Text Properties > Tracking and SLIDE the Tracking slider over to the right.

Now when you RUN this Event you should have the letters spread apart as you are wanting.

I wonder if you HAVE obscured the Tracking Slider? make sure you can actually SEE the slider I've mentioned? If tnot you will need to "reveal" this by pulling down the edge of the Text Colour and Background Panes - yeah?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2007, 09:59 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aubrey, TX
Posts: 80
Geez, I feel like an idiot. I knew it had to be something like that. The problem was, I somehow hid the timeline within Sony text, so there was no timeline or keyframe button to be seen! Once you said there should be a timeline within Sony Text, I knew something was up. Thanks Graham!
Bobby Abernathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2007, 10:50 PM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
N.P. - we've all done it!
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 08:36 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've seen several instances where the timelines in the various effects dialogs were "resized to nothing" by default in Vegas 7. Knowing the timeline should be there, it's simple to just bring it back.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 11:24 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aubrey, TX
Posts: 80
I wonder why they're being resized to nothing in the first place. Maybe a bug?
Bobby Abernathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 11:39 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm not sure. I've seen it on one machine here but not a couple of others. Seems a really strange thing that only "sometimes" happens.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network