How do I overlay file name on timeline? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 9th, 2007, 05:11 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 63
How do I overlay file name on timeline?

I have Vegas 7 and am about to start a project with 50 photos that have to be in order on the timeline. It would be helpful to have the file name on top of them on the timeline while I work on them but I do not know how to turn on this feature. . . . could anyone help please?

Mark
Mark Sudfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2007, 05:47 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Control Shift I will give you the file names.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2007, 06:21 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 63
Perfect! Thanks Don.

Mark
Mark Sudfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2007, 05:52 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MA
Posts: 84
Awesome, I didn't know that was an option, It will help a ton on future slideshows!

I will be making a video of a wedding, with video, and stills from the photographers, and having that data showing in the timeline will help a ton!
Justin Deming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2007, 09:16 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
There are several options like that under the View menu. This particular option is "Active Take Information".
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 06:48 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
There are several options like that under the View menu. This particular option is "Active Take Information".
Now, is there a way to put that active take information as a text overlay on top of the video so it is in the render? I have been trying to send clip & time code marked media to my composer so he can work on scoring to my scenes and we need to be able to refer to the time codes (ie instruction to do XYZ at 7min:30sec:frame20).
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 08:37 PM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You can do it manually but a much faster way is using the Quick Labels tool in Excalibur.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 09:08 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
You can do it manually but a much faster way is using the Quick Labels tool in Excalibur.
Dang it! I knew I missed something! Don't tell me Ultimate S doesn't have this...... I just bought U.S. last week on basically a coin toss between your Excalibur and Ultimate S.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 01:21 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Robinson View Post
Dang it! I knew I missed something!
Answer: Get both!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 11:16 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard View Post
Answer: Get both!

Grazie
Well once I meet the health insurance premium payment, and pay my doctor bill, then I'll think about doubling up on script packages.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 03:02 PM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Jason, you can install it and use it for this project. It works as a trial for 15 days.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 06:41 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Jason, you can install it and use it for this project. It works as a trial for 15 days.
Thanks Edward. I am sure I have already demoed it once before (probably a year or more ago) and then I know I looked at it again some time this year. My use will be more than one project (since I hopefully will need to do this frequently) and I don't want to demo it each time I need it, that just wouldn't be fair to you. I'll do this the hard way till I get the funds. Incidentally thanks for make that sort of feature available. I work with a composer down in LA and I hope to be sending back and forth a lot of time coded media clips and this sure would help out.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network