DVDA burning problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2007, 08:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: nashville, TN
Posts: 107
DVDA burning problem

I have a project that I am working on. When I author in DVDA and put in the duplicator to copy, it gives an error. When I put it in the computer and try to copy it, it gives the good ol' redundancy error. THis is the first project I have ever used DVDA and have never had a problem with the other authoring software I am using. Any suggestions??? Am I doing something wrong??

Thanks
__________________
tayproductions
Derek Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 09:09 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
a little more info would be helpful. Things like, are you using DVDA to rneder to MPEG, if not, what. What kind of duplicator, what kind of media, what error is the dulplicator actually giving you. When you try to copy it in the computer what software are you using or are you just trying to copy the VOB files to the new disc?
Anything you can tell us will help in trying to uravel this mystery.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 09:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: nashville, TN
Posts: 107
Using Vegas to render to an MPEG file. I have tried on 2 different duplicators, one by sony and one by pioneer...I can not remember the exact error given (it is at the office). I am using nero to burn the final DVD, but I get the same error when I burn it using DVDA. I am authoring to the hard drive and then using nero to drag the video_ts file...I have used this for years and never had a problem.

Hope this helps.
__________________
tayproductions
Derek Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 09:21 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
OK let me clarify. Are you talking about actual duplicators OR DVD burners?

So I'm asking have you gotten a burned disc from this project and are trying to dupe it or you are trying to burn an original disc?

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 10:41 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: nashville, TN
Posts: 107
I am talking about duplicators. I burn the original in my DVD burner and then put it in the duplicator. It appears the original disc contains the error. Several tries
__________________
tayproductions
Derek Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 11:52 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
I'd be looking at the media in this case. One thing that DVD A doesn't do in NTSC-land excepting some very rare cases, is output non-compliant files.
Try a different brand of media.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 08:09 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 40
Are you burning Single or Double layer discs?

I would try this -- burn your project to DVD Folders on your hard drive. Then use something like IMGBURN to burn those folders to Disc. Then try that disc in your duplicators.

Some other things to consider (some already mentioned)
-don't burn at the fastest speed (try 4x for a good original)
-check your media

Regards,
George
George Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 09:31 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: nashville, TN
Posts: 107
I have tried taiyo yuden, maxell, and verbatim DVD's so i don't think thats the problem. I am also burning to DVD folders on the hard drive and then using those to copy over to the disc. I am burning single layer at 4x.
__________________
tayproductions
Derek Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 12:31 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nevada City, California
Posts: 499
Which DVD duplicator are you using? Does it support the DVD-A format?
Glenn Davidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 03:49 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: nashville, TN
Posts: 107
What is DVD A format? Is it not just a DVD compliant file. Regardless, i am still getting the cyclic redundancy error when I try to copy it from the disc to the computer. I did that to see if the error was with the dup or with the disc. 2 different computers give the same error.
__________________
tayproductions
Derek Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 04:30 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
If you have burned a copy of the project and now have the disc and can't get the duplicator or the computer to copy it without getting and error AND you have tried various media then there is, in my mind at least, only one thing it could be. I think you might have a corrupted file somewhere in the project that for some reason is preventing you from duping or copying.
Yes DVD Architect produces a compliant file at least it has since I've been using it (version 1 Vegas 3) and I've never had a problem that even closely resembles this situation you are having. Again, it's strictly a wild guess but there's something going on in the project OR---OR---perhaps one of the settings for DVDA is incorrect (IE-PAL when it should be NTSC or something along those lines--remember we're brainstorming and taking wild guesses now)
Man this is really confusing. I've burned hundreds if not thousands of DVDs with DVDA, singles, multiples, masters for dup, masters for replication and this is the first time I have ever heard of this.
Perhaps you should go back to square 1 and check the project files and rerender then reburn in DVDA. PITA I know but when all else fails go back to the beginning.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 05:16 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: nashville, TN
Posts: 107
Possible breakthrough

I have a possible break through here. I moved the hard drive to another computer and burned to a disc...no problems and no errors duping just fine now.

Is it possible that there could be a problem with my burner...never heard of anything like this.

Don, I tried several times starting from square 1 but the problem still persists. Oh well, I at least have a solution for now.

Any other suggestions?? Thanks for all the help
__________________
tayproductions
Derek Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 05:19 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nevada City, California
Posts: 499
Sorry, I thought your were burning a DVD-A format disc. Glad it's working.
Glenn Davidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 06:57 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Well if by moving the hard drive with the prepared files on it to another computer made it work then it would seem logical that there is a problem with the system drive or program on the first computer. Perhaps the system drive or program on that computer got infected or something.
Anyway glad you got it working.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007, 08:15 PM   #15
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Grimes View Post
Is it possible that there could be a problem with my burner...never heard of anything like this.
Yes. I didn't want to chime in because I so seldom know what's going on, but I've had a lot of trouble with burners and DVD Architect. I tried several, then finally bought a Sony and all my troubles went away!
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network