Vegas 8 with V 7 settings? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2007, 07:09 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Vegas 8 with V 7 settings?

How can I apply my V7 settings to V8. Also this: V8 now plays back at about 1 or 2 frames a second instead of the 24 fps I have it set for. What do I need to do to get everything running at least as well as it did in v7? Will restoring to my V7 settings do this? Dismayed...
EDIT: I am running under Windows XP
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 07:20 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 29
Concerning window settings: these settings are stored within the windows layout. You could try to copy the file associated with each window layout setting to the new 8.0 folder.

See:
C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Sony\Vegas\7.0
and:
C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Sony\Vegas Pro\8.0

Concerning other preferences: I think you have to go through the Options/Preferences again. I did it this morning (just purchased V8) and it took me 15 minutes to get back on track.

Didn't notice any dramatic slow down of playback (until I switched on the 32-bit floating point function...).

Kind regards,
Erwin
Erwin Keizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 07:24 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Thanks for the quick reply. I restored my old settings from memory as well and I fixed the playback problem by changing the pixel format back to 8 bit in the project properties. Right now I seem to be back to where I was happy in V7.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 09:16 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
copy
C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Sony\Vegas\7.0
to
C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Sony\Vegas Pro\8.0

This indeed does work, plus I have my Suttle Pro 2 settings back as well.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 11:01 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 215
Shuttle Pro Settings

>>>>plus I have my Suttle Pro 2 settings back as well.

Does V8 require an updated driver for the Shuttle Pro? Or do you only need to point it to V8?

Thanks,

Brian
Brian Mitchell Warshawsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 11:04 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
I had custom made settings for my V7 so I just pointed those to Vegas 8 -- very simple.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network