Version 7e and Pro 8 error in HDV at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2007, 06:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
Version 7e and Pro 8 error in HDV

Please help, my eyes are blurry from reading about this.
Here's the problem
I can capture HDV clips drag them into the timeline, begin editing, and then freeze error message, Vegas shuts down.

I have a Sony Vaio Desktop Pent D 2GB ram 256 video card
with version 7e and a brand new Mac Pro quad core Quad core Xeon with 4 GB of ram (with 2 GB working with XP Pro)
with bootcamp running Pro 8.
Both are experiencing the same problem (but only with HDV clips)

I am using a Sony HVR-V1U camera (brand new) new HDV tapes etc.
Used different tapes, different clips etc. and still locking up.

I imported the clips into the Mac Pro using Final Cut Express, not a problem in the world.

Please help I'm not ready to Jump to the Mac and Final Cut just yet. I've been a user of Vegas since version 6 and I'm not ready to leave the wonderful software.

I'm not in front of my editing machines so If anyone would like the error message that pops up I'll attach it later.

Thanks

*I've sent the problem to Sony Tech Support but any help would be great!

Last edited by Jason Boyette; September 11th, 2007 at 06:53 PM. Reason: I forgot
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 07:28 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
I've had this error, it might be due to the HDV scene detection.

Capture your clips as a single clip and turn off HDV scene detection.

Also see this thread for my experience: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=96953
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 10:20 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
HDVSplit

Been reading about HDVSplit...should I try this.
Could this be the answer to my problems.

I really don't want to capture it as one clip
I'm editing football games and each clip is a different play.
It would take forever to edit if it were just one clip.
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 08:23 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
7.0d works like a charm

So after reading on the forums I decided to go old school with 7.0d
EVERYTHING WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!

Why oh why doesn't it work in Pro 8
Same clips, same everything

If anybody has a good answer please let me know
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network