DVDA and menu at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 19th, 2007, 01:35 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
DVDA and menu

I made a short but busy video clip with Vegas for my DVDA menu that involves 8 layers of video.

The quality is very poor when rendered, though the quality of the original footage is high.

Any suggestions/explanations? Is this just too much going on at once to render properly?

After quick experiment, I see the issue appears to be that the clip just doesn't look good on the DVDA menu, but when rendered as a .wmv with DVD quality settings and viewed it in Widows media player it looks great.

For use on the Architect menu I render it as Mpeg 2. Is that not the best format for a clip to play on a DVDA menu?

Last edited by Jeff Harper; September 19th, 2007 at 01:46 AM. Reason: addition
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 06:59 AM   #2
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
MPEG2 is the correct format for a DVD Architect menu and I don't care how many layers you have, the video should still look as good as it did in Vegas. Are you using the DVD Architect NTSC video stream template when you render? (or PAL)

You might want to try rendering to a DV AVI file and let DVD Architect convert it for you but this should not be necessary. The DVD Architect rendering template should do the trick.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 08:15 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Menus will ALWAYS be recompressed so it's not good to render to MPEG2 for menus. Instead, render to a less lossy format. DV-AVI is a possibility as John said. If you want even less lossy, you might even go uncompressed.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 08:29 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Edward/John, correct me if I 'm wrong but aren't menus supposed to be renderd in progressive mode (as opposed to interlaced)?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 08:44 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've never worried about going to progressive mode. It's going to be interlaced when it shows on the TV anyway. I just make sure I don't go to MPEG2 as it's going to get recompressed.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 09:55 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thank you, I will try uncompressed....and yes I was using the correct DVD architect template.

Incidentally, while the discs that I write usually come out fine, on occasion I get some bad ones...in two incidents customers each got bad discs, five each, all bad.

I use the finest Tai Yuden media. Is it possible that if I was printing discs at the same time on the same PC this caused the burns to be bad?

Thanks!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 10:41 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Jeff,

Try clicking on the "optimize" button (this is available in one of the "Make DVD" screens). Now click "Video 1" and under recompress settings > progressive shoose "NO" . This will probably solve your problem. I was getting jagged text on my motion menus and complained to Sony and they told me they needed to be progressive. Then in the next release they added this option. I remember reading a note in the manual that said it may not be as compatible it you do not do them in progressive but I have not had any problems yet.

Funny thing is my old program Reel DVD has never had a problem with interlaced NTSC motion menus.

Marc
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 10:43 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I'll try it, Marc, thank you.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network