Vegas support Red digital? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 19th, 2007, 04:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Vegas support Red digital?

Wondering if I went with a red camera does Vegas support it? are there inherent drawbacks? can I use gearshift to work on proxy files?

Thanks

Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 04:54 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I believe Vegas should be able to natively edit the quicktime reference files. Rob Lohman (one of the coders for Red) uses Vegas.

http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthread.php?t=2452

Quote:
As others point out, you can use Redcine to convert to a quicktime format that vegas will handle. Rob Lohman uses Vegas, so you can be pretty sure that you'll be covered.

2- Question for the Red team:
Sorry if I haven't been following super closely, but will other NLEs like Vegas be able to edit Redcode RAW without transcoding? Via the quicktime reference file.

2b- Isn't Vegas already real-time 'enabled' so you get comparable real-time to FCP? (As long as your computer can decode AND have enough horsepower to do the effect. And ignoring the RAW processing controls within FCP.)
Quote:
Glenn: should be yes to both. Obviously Vegas is 8-bit with a max of 2K.
*Vegas is currently capable of 32-bit processing, but I'm not sure how you'd ingest that into Vegas. AFAIK Vegas doesn't do 16-bit TIFF (and doesn't do DPX or openEXR or 10-bit cineform).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 08:04 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 148
Max Res is 2048x2048 which I'm OK with given the very reasonable price.
Konrad Haskins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 02:13 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
So technically it does not in full res so it would never be smart to use it to edit since you could not render a final output fullsize.

I am curious if they ever will ad it as I see the red as a viable upgrade to many from hdv/xdcam
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 10:50 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 148
No Vegas is not the editor to do a full res render from red but then there is very little than can handle that. Not even the most common commercial projector from Christie can handle more the 2048. There is no main stream common commercial use for more than 2048. OK I'm sure there are uses and for those special limited needs you need to pony up the big bucks for an NLE that can handle RED and it will cost a lot more than $135.

Sorry this is just a pet grumble with me people want better resolution than the last Star Wars movie when shown with digital projectors on the BIG screen (1080x2048) for $135 they are asking for a free lunch in my not humble opinion.
Konrad Haskins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 11:19 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Think you are looking at it the wrong way, I have final cut, vegas, adode, and avid liquid, I don't mind spending the money at all I do however mind spending the time to learn and get good at a NLE that cannot handle something I will want and have to learn a whole new program all over again to work it later.
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 02:37 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Right now what you can do is:

A- Master to HD resolution (1920x1080) or 2K (2048x1080; which you can crop to HD).

For video, it's unlikely you'll need to make material at higher resolution than that for a few years.

Some theatres can show 4K (though 2K projection from a Christie looks better than Sony's 4K) but to make a compliant master you need specialized tools and a 4K projector. It makes sense to do that type of work at a facility that can handle it. You need a very fast disk array, software that can make a DCI package, 4k monitoring, etc. etc. All that requires some $ and just as importantly the expertise.

B- For extract 4K stills from Red, go into Redcine and export your stills.

2- Perhaps a smarter way to work is if the NLE had integration with Redcine so you spend less button pushing in making your stills. Perhaps you could change the timeline to 4K and the quicktime reference files to 4K (though I don't know if the NLE will like that since it might think that the clip is still 2k).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 03:18 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
If Vegas can support the proxies created by the Red camera (via RedQuick), then it should be able to work as a 4K editing solution.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network