Vegas 8 and exporting to AVCHD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2007, 10:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 71
Vegas 8 and exporting to AVCHD?

I have been using Vegas 6 for some time for editing HDV footage from my Z1U. However, I recently purchased a small Sony AVCHD camcorder for family trips, etc. The software it came with allows exporting AVCHD to DVD. I can playback the disc on my PS3. Quality is so so... about 9Mbps on average, but I can get about an hour of AVCHD footage on 1 standard DVD.

I also use Pinnacle Studio 11.1 from time to time when I want to export HD to DVD which can be played back on an HD DVD player. I've noticed that with the 11.1 patch, AVCHD export is now supported with variable bit rates up to 17Mbps on a standard 4.7 GB DVD.

Now my question is, I'm interested in upgrading to Vegas 8 Pro or Studio 8 Platinum since I've been having issues with Vegas 6 and Vista, but would like to know if AVCHD export to DVD is supported. Sony's creative software website wasn't very specific; comparisons between Studio Ultimate and Pro show that Studio can read and edit AVCHD but not write, whereas Pro can read, edit, and write. Write to DVD is the question though... is it possible??

Can anyone confirm whether or not this would be feasible with either Pro or Studio Ultimate?

Thanks in advance,
James
__________________
List My Threads
James Sarte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 11:44 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 71
Anyone? No ideas?
__________________
List My Threads
James Sarte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2007, 07:41 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21
You might download the Vegas Pro 8 30-day trial and see if it works for what you need.

It has an option in the tools menu to burn a blu-ray disc & various CD formats, but not DVD. You can also export to PSP.

I rendered a test video to Sony AVC which allows me to use Picture Motion Browser to export an m2ts file back into my Sony HDR-SR1 for playback via HDMI cable.

You should be able to render it in a variety of formats and use the included DVD Architect to burn whatever DVD you need.
Andrew Marshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2007, 08:35 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
It is very slow, about 10 times realtime to export to m2ts, even if there are no changes. The Sony Picture Motion Browser is faster and that only uses one processor!!!!! IF you do not want any fancy corrections just cuts etc you can use the Picture Motion software. To my knowledge( there are no menus or instructions that I can find for AVCHD) DVD Architect will only make a standard DVD, no Blu Ray and no AVCHD. You can make a BluRay disc from the Vegas 8 timeline with no menus, essentially a single play backup,but that won't be AVCHD it will be transcoded, read long encode times.
I too am trying to figure out the best way of using my SR7 and have decided to get a Blackmagic Intensity and capture from HDMI and backup to HDV tape if needed. AVCHD support is not there yet. Edius has a converter but that too takes forever to convert to Canopus HQ. Both Edius 4.5 and Vegas 8 will recognise AVCHD on the Timeline but respond slowly, again not really practical in my mind hence my decision to go Intensity to mix with my FX1 clips. For family video, my reson for getting the SR7 I will just use the Picture Motion Browser software slow but still faster than the other choices!!!!

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2007, 07:11 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21
You could use the Sony AVC - rendered movie in Picture Motion Browser to burn a seamless AVCHD DVD. I think Vegas Pro 8 will also let you burn a DVD for PS3 from the timeline with the blu-ray feature (yes, no menus).
Andrew Marshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2007, 07:51 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
A bit OT here but.. is it possible to mix m2t and m2ts on the same veg? I dun think it can be done but just asking.. we have a project coming where the SR7 and HC1 has to mixed together..
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2007, 08:51 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Vegas 8 and Edius 4.5 will allow you to put almost anything on the timeline and edit!!! It's the rendering that takes the time.
Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network