Removing multicam cuts... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2007, 02:41 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Removing multicam cuts...

So...you've combined your various camera tracks into a multicam track and you have made all the switches in camera angles you want.

But then you change your mind about some of the switches and decide at a particular point you want to use camera 3 rather than camera 1 and make the switch at different point.

Can a camera switch (don't know the technical name) be 'undone' in such a case?

If so, how?
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 05:31 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Syracuse,NY
Posts: 13
Are you using vegas 8?

Are you using a script such as Excalibur?(if yes than yes easily)

More info is needed.
Jim Sobolewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 08:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 95
In Vegas 8, each of the 4 cameras (video events) become takes. If you right click (I think) on the video event, then select the "Takes" sub-menu, you be presented with the list of takes, with the currently selected one flagged (forget how exactly; a dot maybe?). Just select one of the other takes, and all will be good.

This also highlights thing that will help -- use clear, unambiguous names for the event streams, whether it be camera-1, camera-2, ..., or stage-left, stage-right, overhead.

You can, of course, also edit the multi-cam track as an other track.

Ciao,

marks

P.S. When you are selecting an alternate shot, you can put Vegas into multi-camera mode (Ctrl-Shift-D) so that you can see the alternate takes, to verify which one it is that you actually want.

Last edited by Mark Stavar; September 30th, 2007 at 08:22 PM. Reason: P.S.
Mark Stavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2007, 12:11 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Sorry. Yes, I am using v8.

Excalibar or other script? No.
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2007, 08:42 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You have a couple of options:

1. Switch that section to the proper take
2. Delete that section and expand the prior section to now cover that section.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2007, 02:02 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Thanks Edward. I had discovered those methods but wondered if you could select the switch somehow and delete it. I take it you can't.
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network