Creating time lapse... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 2nd, 2007, 12:38 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 121
Creating time lapse...

I have a clip of clouds and I would like to create a time-lapse effect. However, when I drag the velocity all the way to the top of the clip (300%), it is still too slow. How do I get an even faster speed? Do I need to render and then speed up the clip again? If so, what format do I render to? This project is in HDV 1080 60i.

Thanks for your replies.
Jerry Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 01:44 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Jerry, you can combine the 300% speed up (using velocity) with an additional 400% speed up (by setting playback rate to minimum of 0.250 in clip properties). Doing so you get speed factor 12 in a single step. If this isn't enough yet, just do like you proposed in a further step.
Tip: For playback on computer monitor render to an 60 fps progressive format (with fields interpolated) and the time lapse effect will get even better.

Here are some Vegas created time lapse demos of mine:
http://www.hv20.com/showthread.php?t=2066
__________________
Michael

Last edited by Michael Mann; October 2nd, 2007 at 03:17 AM.
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 10:48 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I believe you'd want to set the playback rate to "4" to speed it up. ".25" will slow it down.

An easier way to adjust the playback rate is to hold down the CTRL key and resize the event. Smaller will be faster, larger will be slower.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 11:43 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Right, I meant playback rate 4.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
An easier way to adjust the playback rate is to hold down the CTRL key and resize the event. Smaller will be faster, larger will be slower.
I didn't know that. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 12:01 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
u can also nest the veg files if the native speedup isn't enuff.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 04:41 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 239
I do the control /drag left till it stops then insert a velocity envelope of 150%-300%. So far I have not needed to go faster.

Here is one from this weekend that I shot in Zion.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtQYqz5n3VU

Why do these sped up clips take forever to render?
__________________
My videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasberg
Joey Atilano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 10:31 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 4
Jerry
This is the way I do timelapse - it works well.
1. Set your camera on a tripod and record the clouds for say 1 hour

2. Capture the footage and import into the Vegas timeline

3. Go to tools/scripts, and run the standard script that generates a time sequence. You'll need to firstly set the interval time to a value that will determine the number of still frames generated. eg. for a PAL system the frame period is 40mS, so to speed up a 60 minute video to say 30 seconds, you'll need an interval time of 120 x the normal frame period (120 x 40mS for PAL = 4800ms or 4.8 seconds. i.e. the script will generate a single frame once every 4.8 seconds. So you'll end up with 750 jpg images.

4. start a new project, and import all the images. (make sure you have the image duration set to one frame period (e.g. 40ms for PAL) and the overlap set to 0 in preferences/editing

...hope this is of use....
Dave Jaques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 11:55 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 103
They take longer cos it is blending the frames together. If you click switches disable resample it won't frame blend and will render faster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Atilano View Post

Why do these sped up clips take forever to render?
Andy Gordon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network