AC3 Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 2nd, 2007, 08:16 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: KINGSLAND, GEORGIA
Posts: 4
AC3 Question

I've been working on a short video clip and the last couple of days has found me in a bind. The clip is a title with exploding letters. With each letter explosion I have a wave file that is in sync in a 5.1 layout. It's 1 wave file for each letter of a 2 row title. If the letter is on the right top row, the the right front speaker has the explosion. If it's a bottom row left letter then the rear left speaker has it and so on. When I play back the clip in the preview, everything is perfect, I get sound from the RF, center, LF, RR, and LR speakers when I'm supposed to. Then when I render it to an AC3 file I lose the center speaker and that sound goes to both front speakers. Leaving a decent hole in my soundstage. I checked all my surround sound settings, the surround panner, properties, AC3 config and I can't figure out what is wrong.

Any suggestions? Thanks!

Sorry for my first post being a question.... lol

Oh yeah, I'm using Vegas 7.0e.
Eric Ruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 08:38 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Can you post your VEG file?
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 09:17 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Did you go into the "custom" dialog when rendering, and spec the 5.1 template? For some reason, the 5.1 template is not available until you go into the "custom" dialog.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 10:00 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: KINGSLAND, GEORGIA
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth Bloombaum View Post
Did you go into the "custom" dialog when rendering, and spec the 5.1 template? For some reason, the 5.1 template is not available until you go into the "custom" dialog.
Yeah, I'm using the 5.1 template... unfortunately I'm getting a 4.1 file... no center channel.
Eric Ruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 10:02 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: KINGSLAND, GEORGIA
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emre Safak View Post
Can you post your VEG file?

Sure.

http://rapidshare.com/files/59888644/Untitled.veg.html
Eric Ruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 09:04 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
I finally had a chance to inspect your VEG file. It looks okay, so the problem is either in rendering, or playback. Tracks 2 and 8 have information in the center channel so it should not be silent.

How are you playing your AC3 files? Do you have a software "surround mode" enabled, like "SRS CircleSurround" or "Dolby Pro Logic II"?
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 12:02 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: KINGSLAND, GEORGIA
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emre Safak View Post
I finally had a chance to inspect your VEG file. It looks okay, so the problem is either in rendering, or playback. Tracks 2 and 8 have information in the center channel so it should not be silent.

How are you playing your AC3 files? Do you have a software "surround mode" enabled, like "SRS CircleSurround" or "Dolby Pro Logic II"?

No, everything is hardware... I have an Audigy 2 soundcard with a Creative 5.1 system. I just noticed that if I play the .ac3 file in Cyberlink PowerDVD 7.2 I lose the center channel, if I play it in Nero ShowTime 4.1 it plays fine. I'm using Sony DVDArchitect 4.0b to make the DVD and it also loses the center channel. I never had this problem before, it just happened one day and it hasn't fixed itself...!

So the problem probably isn't Vegas... I'll keep working on it. Thanks for the help!
Eric Ruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 12:52 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
That explains it! Go into PowerDVD's audio settings and see what has happened. The AC3 decoder might be doing something funky. Nero has its own AC3 decoder. PowerDVD uses Cyberlink's.
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2010, 09:01 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
i'm losing center speaker after rendering as well!

vegas 7 & DVDA 4 and 5
after rendering, my theatre center speaker plays zilch!
other dvds are fine, other front and rear speakers i pan to using surround panner per track, in Vegas video, work fine, not the centre speaker

vegas preview window plays center 'sound' [though i have2 speakers attached to my editing pc] but after rendering DVDA plays nothing in preview and in my theatre sound system.... nothing

all other panned sound to speakers are ok.

any ideas??

yours sincerely,

Martyn Biesheuvel.
Martyn Biesheuvel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network