Mouse choice at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2007, 10:12 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 68
Mouse choice

What is the best type of mouse to use for video editing?
Bob Magill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2007, 10:21 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
In all seriousness, a Shuttle Pro.
List is $110 but the B&H page says "email me a price" so I'm guessing that it's a lot cheaper.
I've already got one and am VERY happy with it.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2007, 03:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 51
do you know what the difference between a version 1 and version 2 Shuttlepro is?
Simon Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2007, 04:05 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Sorry Simon but I have no idea.
I bought mine earlier this year and it's a V2 model.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2007, 04:37 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Simon -
2 buttons... 15 instead of 13 (haven't used 'em all YET, but I'm TRYING!!) and a slightly more substantial feel (mainly weight if my memory is correct, sold my V1, own a couple V2 for editing stations)...

I believe the software is the same, function is identical...

Oh yeah, and V1 is silver, V2 is black... black matches my monitors better <wink>!

IMO jog/shuttle is worth the price of admission, the ability to set often used functions to buttons at will is a big timesaver.

I use the shuttle on my left, with a MX1000 logitech mouse on the right, hardly ever touch the kbd...
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Actually, functionality is slightly different. The V2 will allow one button to do multiple keypresses by pressing one button - the V1 will only assign a single keypress to one button.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 10:29 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 68
Will I still need a mouse to drag events or does the Shuttlepro scroll like a mouse?
Bob Magill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 11:02 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You'll still need a mouse.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 11:07 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
You'll still need a mouse for point, click or drag functions.

The Shuttlepro gives you jog, shuttle, scrub, mark in, mark out, add, zoom in to timeline, zoom out, and more that I'm forgetting. You can also custom map the buttons to whatever you want.

I use my Shuttlepro... however, I'm also very focused on keyboard shortcuts, and have found the j-k-l shortcuts most useful.

J - scrub backwards, K - pause, L - scrub forwards.

Hold down k and hit L once, slow forward, additional hits = faster.

Hit j once for 1x, additional hits = faster.

And so on.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 12:25 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
My two cents:

Since I have a job inputing data during the day, and then I edit at night, lunch and weekends, I was having issues with using a mouse and fatigue.

I realized it had a lot to do with my wrist movement as well as 'gripping' the mouse itself.

So I switched to a Logitech Trackball. It took me about two weeks before I got the hang of it, and now, with exception to first person shooters, I use a track ball almost exclusively. The one I use is http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/mi...s/159&cl=us,en

This was probably too much information, but I hope it helps.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 01:18 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Actually, functionality is slightly different. The V2 will allow one button to do multiple keypresses by pressing one button - the V1 will only assign a single keypress to one button.
Hi Edward -
Just to prevent misinformation if I'm wrong (DVInfo is a great resource, don't want to get the facts wrong, and since I don't have a V1 anymore I can't "fact check" myself...).

Is the multiple keystroke function in the software or the hardware - thought that updated software would allow the V1 to have programmable keystrokes? Or does it recognize it's a V1 and won't allow the programming?
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 02:26 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I have the V1 and did do some searching when I discovered the V2 *did* allow multiple keystrokes. At that time, it was only available on the V2 and not supported on the V1. I'm not sure if that has changed since then.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 02:54 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 51
well my bid on ebay just won a V1 shuttle...not the best deal bid I have ever put in but about 1/3 price of new...looking forward to getting my workflow speeded up and slicker...thanks for the tips...might come back to you guys asking where to get V1/V2 software if this thing doesn't ship with it (its used).
S
Simon Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 03:04 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon Gee View Post
...where to get V1/V2 software if this thing doesn't ship with it (its used).
Just in case :-)
Countour drivers
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 06:28 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Logitech Thumb Ball Mice

I used one of those Logitech trackball mice for a while, but noticed that my thumb got cramped very easily. It was just too much movement dedicated to one finger. I might use one of the larger ball mice (where several fingers are involved) but for now, I just use a Logitech MX500. Good shape, and smooth movement.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network