What happened to my presets in Vegas 8!!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2007, 03:00 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
What happened to my presets in Vegas 8!!!

Ok, I upgraded from 6 to 8 tonight, and the first thing I've noticed is that it has not imported any of my event pan/crop presets or track presets!

The Sony Presets Manager seems to only support effects.

Please help!

Rob,
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 03:20 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Create a project using those presets, open it in Vegas 8, and then resave them.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 03:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Thanks for the guidance Edward. Looks like that will have to be my solution, although it is not ideal and highly time consuming and complete counter intuitive. This is surely a major oversight by Sony? I'm going to have a poke about later and see if I can hack them in somehow.

While I'm at it, what have they done to the handling of docked windows? Everything is upside down to how we are used to using it. I tried to swap them around but the windows will no longer dock at the bottom of the screen. Incredibly annoying as I am now having to shuffle loads of windows about.

This is very un-Vegas liek in my experience. I recall there being a migration wizard that popped up when we moved from 5 to 6. Rggghs to Sony.
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Ok, now I am actually angry. They retain previous render presets (thank god) but project properties settings are lost. Wasn't this supposed to be some sort of transparent upgrade that would improve my work flow? Am I coming from the fabled land of the orange banana tree here, or has Sony just chucked a great lump of the brown stuff into my work flow?

I routinely render into about thirty different formats and resolutions, some with minor alterations. These alterations are as important to me as the event pan button or the effects button. So why did they not spend the approximately five minutes it would have taken to import those settings?

I do have notes on these settings, but I should not be spending days trying to recreate them. I am a busy professional. This is called Sony Vegas Pro 8 isn't it? This is the sort of thing that will make professionals reject what is at it's core the most powerful, intuitive and efficient system around. So far I notice a performance increase, but at the cost of actually being able to do what I need to do, the loss of vital presets (the essential tools of my trade) and in reliability, as the couple of crashes I have already had testify to.

Yes I know it is an early release, but if it was not ready to go out they should not have released it. I used Vegas 6a and never updated it, as it never crashed. This heap of fetid dingos kidneys does not even seem to be complete. I think that assertion shall be supported when they release further updates and more features appear - a sure sign that they cut rushed development to have product ready by the video show they announced it at.

And I haven't even tried the Pro-Titler yet!
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 04:16 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Wheeler View Post
While I'm at it, what have they done to the handling of docked windows? Everything is upside down to how we are used to using it. I tried to swap them around but the windows will no longer dock at the bottom of the screen. Incredibly annoying as I am now having to shuffle loads of windows about.
Options - Preferences - Display tab - Uncheck the "Display timeline at bottom of main window" checkbox.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 04:30 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Thank you Edward. I was so close to putting the whole computer through the window. Now it looks much better.

I will never understand the logic they must have employed to change a perfectly intuitive method of arranging the screen into an obscure check box at the rear-end of the application. Don't they understand that producers are under pressure!?!?
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 04:43 PM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The option has been on that screen since Vegas 6. There have been many complaints that Vegas was "upside down" to the other major NLE's which have their timelines on bottom. In Vegas 6 the option to change that was made available. In Vegas 8 they switched it by default. Fortunately it's easy to change back if that is your desire.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 04:52 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
I take your point Edward, but it is still counter intuitive, as is the whole migration path. In the Sonic Foundry days they were extremely attentive to migration and maintaining workflow across major program revisions.

I would not be too much to ask for a layout wizard to appear at first run. In fact, I can't see why they need the upside down switch anyway. Surely it you should just be able to move them around and dock them freely?
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 08:54 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Robert, depending on your hacking skills, the presets you're looking for will be found in various xml files. This is just a hint. If you know how to edit xml then have fun. If this is foreign to you, best to leave alone.

Disclaimer - You may need to reinstall Vegas if you break the xml files. You've been warned!

Anyone ever used the settings migration wizard? I've never had a need to, but it's been included with the installs since about V5...
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 03:48 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth Bloombaum View Post
Robert, depending on your hacking skills, the presets you're looking for will be found in various xml files. This is just a hint. If you know how to edit xml then have fun. If this is foreign to you, best to leave alone.
What is the location and name of the files Seth?
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 08:02 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Options - Preferences - Display tab - Uncheck the "Display timeline at bottom of main window" checkbox.
Dear Edward,

Thanks for the tip.

I also have been searching for that option.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network