Nested project - not enough memory at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 31st, 2007, 08:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
Nested project - not enough memory

Hi

I am trying to work with a nested project in Vegas 7

I have 11 small projects in HDV (22 minutes in total)
When I try to put them in a one nested project, memory usage grows about 300MB per a project.

When memory usage reaches 2GB (I have only 1.5 GB RAM), Vegas stops working.

When I render a nested project with say 6 projects (memory usage is 1.7Gb), it hits 2GB and stops rendering (frames don't change)

Is this normal?
;-(

I will try to add more RAM, but I suspect I can only add another 512Mb

Thanks
Slava
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 08:13 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
If you reduce the preview quality, you should be able to preview. Not being able to render at all is odd. You're confident that it's not a FAT vs NTFS issue?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 09:42 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
It's Windows XP, should be NTFS

I am not sure why 15 minute nested project takes 1.7Gb of memory

I can preview all fine, but Vegas crashes or hangs if memory usage gets to 2GB (with 1.5Gb of physical memory)

The smaller projects are in HDV 1080-50i

I also have another nested project consisting of 4 10 minute clips
It loads forever, but takes 800Mb of memory and seems to render fine

Maybe I am missing some setting somewhere?
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2007, 02:35 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
When you say it crashes or hangs, what exactly happens? Do you get any kind of error message or is any activity visible?

Vegas spends quite a while rendering large time-line preview tracks for nested projects into separate files. Are you sure it is not taking time to render them (it can lock up other operations while it is doing it) and that you have enough disk space for the temporary files it generates?
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2007, 07:12 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
Sometimes it stops doing anything
The CPU is on 0%, the memory is on 2.02GB

Sometimes it shows unrecoverable internal error (not sure what the message is - but a lot of addresses, function names and such in details window) and dies when I press OK.

Thanks
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 05:52 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slava Barouline View Post
Sometimes it stops doing anything
The CPU is on 0%, the memory is on 2.02GB

Sometimes it shows unrecoverable internal error (not sure what the message is - but a lot of addresses, function names and such in details window) and dies when I press OK.

Thanks
Slava,

Have a look at your disk space, particularly on the drive where the Windows pagefile is located. Are you running out of temp space?

Is your pagefile set up as a fixed size or is it dynamic? If it is dynamic, trying making it a fixed size - with 1.5Gb of RAM, then the same sized pagefile should do the trick, going too much larger probably won't help much.

Sounds to me like your system might be thrashing - spending all its time swapping memory pages between physical RAM and pagefile on disk. Windows seems to have a terrible paging algorithm at the best of times.

Another option, for the sake of it, try setting your preview RAM to 0 and see how that goes.

Good luck,

mark
Mark Stavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 06:55 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Stavar View Post
Slava,

Have a look at your disk space, particularly on the drive where the Windows pagefile is located. Are you running out of temp space?

Is your pagefile set up as a fixed size or is it dynamic? If it is dynamic, trying making it a fixed size - with 1.5Gb of RAM, then the same sized pagefile should do the trick, going too much larger probably won't help much.

Sounds to me like your system might be thrashing - spending all its time swapping memory pages between physical RAM and pagefile on disk. Windows seems to have a terrible paging algorithm at the best of times.

Another option, for the sake of it, try setting your preview RAM to 0 and see how that goes.

Good luck,

mark
Mark

I have 5.8 Gb free on system drive

My page file is minimum 500 and maximum 1000Mb

How do I set preview RAM to 0?

Thanks
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 07:27 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
options>preferences>editing
change to whatever number close and restart Vegas.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 07:40 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
I have increased page file size to 2Gb

Still when I try to render as 1080-50i Vegas crashes with an error:

Sony Vegas 7.0
Version 7.0e (Build 216)
Exception 0xC0000094 (integer divide by zero) IP:0x396ADB92
In Module 'vegas70k.dll' at Address 0x396A0000 + 0xDB92
Thread: TrackRender ID=0x2A0 Stack=0x374F000-0x3750000
....
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 07:42 AM   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Just to clarify, you're using Vegas 7e, yes?
What is the source footage?
Rendering to HDV 1080i or uncompressed?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 06:04 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle View Post
Just to clarify, you're using Vegas 7e, yes?
What is the source footage?
Rendering to HDV 1080i or uncompressed?
It's Vegas 7e and Canon HV20 HDV 25p captured by HDVSplit
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 01:28 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
This might be a lame approach

But you can copy the project time-line, and paste it into a new project.

You might have better luck copying + pasting all the edited projects into 1 large one.

I've never had Vegas use more than 1 gig of memory, I have 2... and have done some large projects.
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 10:09 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Busch View Post
This might be a lame approach

But you can copy the project time-line, and paste it into a new project.

You might have better luck copying + pasting all the edited projects into 1 large one.

I've never had Vegas use more than 1 gig of memory, I have 2... and have done some large projects.
Yes, this is what I am going to do.

I never used nested projects before, but HDV is very slow
I thought it would speed it up
Slava Barouline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 08:30 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
this is the same problem

I'm having with my vegas at the moment, and I'm running a quad with 4Gb of Ram, it'll get to a point and then the cpu goes to 0% and the render just stops. Some suggestions I haven't had a chance to test yet, is set the page file size, put the page file on a different drive, also to reduce the number of render threads is another I've seen.
It seems to be part of this Vegas curse, I have a very important project at the moment, and I thought about a 3rd of the way through I'll just render out to DVD so I can watch it on TV and get a feel for pace etc. Well I can't can I!
I even went and installed 7.0e as copy and pasted it from 8.0c, and it actually got further before it died. The only way to stop the process is to ctrl alt del. The continual need to do this is making think now my system is becoming corrupt. Yet you'll have someone with their trusty pentium 3 1ghz machine and 1 gig ram run smooth.
So I'm almost at a wits end with this program, I keep on thinking just keep trying, there must be a logical solution. I've thrown hardware at it, kept my system as bare as possible, and still something as basic as being able to render your work, which plays good in the timeline preview becomes inpossible.

good luck

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 06:04 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lielvārde, Latvia
Posts: 326
I had the same problem and was going crazy.
At last I cut the 15min video in 3 parts, rendered each part at the highest quality possible, then stitched them together with transitions in Vegas. Not pretty, but it worked for a web only delivery.
Andris Krastins is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network