Vegas, XHA1, hv20 and HG10? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 15th, 2007, 02:21 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Vegas, XHA1, hv20 and HG10?

I heard that vegas 8 cannot capture the xha1 24f? but 7 could, can you still capture in 7 and work in 8?

Next question, if shooting the xha1 in 24 and using the hv20 to capture as a deck is the capture 24f correct? how can you tell?

And using an hg10 24f file direct from the camera to a harddrive is it correctly in a 24 viedo or do you need to recapture it to have a 24 frame video to edit? How can you tell?

If you have capturted footage from the xha1 through the hv20 as a deck, and also footage from the hv20 also captured through it how do you know if its 24 in the timeline?

And does neohdv and neo hd both capture and make these questions useless?

Assuming you are capturing once mt2 files in 24f and copying direct from the hg10 (harddrive camera) and editing those on a timeline, once with post color effects cuts, whatever, and rendering only once from the raw edits, no render and rerender, what is the point of neo converting your file, if there is not a speed playback issue or you are using DV proxies?

Trying to get a handle on how vegas handles video and 24f from these cameras. Thanks.
__________________
Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 10:55 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
1. When capturing from HV20, you will get the data stream that was laid down by the AH1. Thats what is being transferred at capture, the data stream, so it will be intact. HV20 does not modify the data stream.

2. HG10- Footage from HG10 shot at 24p, will be in a 60i stream, and processing to get it to true 24p will be required. Go to the ACVHD format forum, or HV20/HG10 forum where these issues have been discussed. Users pioneering the format are using some tricks to process, and use programs like Cineform to handle the processing/conversion to 24p.

3. HV20 captured, will be 60i on the timeline. It will maintain the feel of 24p, but you will need to use something like Cineform to do conversion to 24p. There is also a freeware method out there, and I think on Mac side, FCP may be now capable of removing pulldown from the HV20 24p captured material. I think they had a paper on that posted. Problem as I understand it with both HG10 and HV20 24p is that Canon does not have "flags" inserted in the footage stream that tells the Vegas/Premiere standard removal processes where to pull out what frames.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network