double click on event shows previous one at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2007, 01:52 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
double click on event shows previous one

I experienced a complete freeze of windows due to another application than Vegas, but Vegas was running at the time. I couldn't even close the running applications with Ctrl/Alt/Delete (wouldn't open) and had to depower my computer manually.

After I rebooted, Vegas, to my surprise didn't warn me that there had been a crash and that I should save my project after reopening.

I noticed immediately that wherever I double-clicked on an image event, the preview window showed me the last frame of the previous event. There are no overlaps of frames between clips and this is happening no matter which project I open.

The Windows sudden shutdown obviously caused something within Vegas to make this happen -- does anyone have any idea what I should do to correct this? It's very annoying and makes editing almost impossible.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2007, 03:20 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
I'm getting myself into a mess. I uninstalled and reinstalled Vegas 8.a in hopes of fixing this problem. Alas, the problem hasn't been fixed and all my settings are gone. This looks serious -- no suggestions from anyone out there?
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 12:52 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
57 people so far have checked this thread out, and who knows how many more over on the Sony forum, but it seems that no one has ever encountered the same experience. I posted my problem with Sony support and hopefully something can be figured out.

Such a small thing yet so detrimental to the minute by minute work flow.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 02:10 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I know when you double-click an event, the cursor will move to the beginning of that event. However, it *should* show you the frame AFTER the cursor which would be the first frame of the event you double-clicked. I've never seen it do otherwise.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 02:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Could you venture a guess as to why this is happening to me? It obviously isn't a setting in Vegas since I reinstalled Vegas and it continued to happen with factory settings. Could this have something to do with the graphics card or something in the registry?
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 03:20 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm not sure uninstalling and reinstalling resets everything. You might try holding down CTRL-SHIFT when starting Vegas which should reset EVERYTHING back to factory defaults.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 03:41 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Interesting that you brought that up, because I did another uninstall but this time deleted all the Vegas 08 directories before reinstalling. Nothing was fixed. Then I got your last post and opened Vegas using CTRL-SHIFT but that hasn't fixed anything either.

I have discovered however, that when I start a new project from scratch, the problem is gone. If I had to redo my entire film, which consists up until now of 11 separate projects amounting to 55 minutes, I'd go nuts.

The fact is, that deleting an event and entering it again from it's folder fixes the problem for that event, so I might have to go nuts until I'm done...

But first, I'll wait to see what I hear from Sony before I'll do something like that to myself.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 03:35 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Perhaps a quicker way to reload your footage would be to move all the source footage en masse to a new folder then re-open the project. At the 'can't find media' dialogue you can then specify the new location and all the clips should be reloaded.

Can't guarantee this will resolve the problem but worth a try (having File/Save As'd first!).

Good luck.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 03:53 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Paul, when you double click an event, what happens to the loop region indicator? Does it cover what it should show, ie the correct clip?

Is the 'now' time correct (ie showing the first frame of the double clicked clip)?

And it happens to EVERY clip in EVERY existing project?

When I was playing around just now, trying to replicate your problem, I noticed that the two clips I had loaded *appeared* to be non-overlapping but in fact there was a single frame overlap (which dispayed 0;00 duration) that only showed up at extreme magnification. The result was that when I double clicked on the second clip it did shoot back to the first frame of that clip but it also showed the last frame of the previous clip, presumably at 50/50 composite levels. This was despite having automatic event snapping on.

Now, what are the odds of this happening to every clip in every existing project? Slim, I know. But maybe worth taking a peek to see whether there is, in fact, any overlap.

Long shot!

Anyone clue me in as to why this single frame overlap happens? Is it intentional? It's too fast to be detected on playback so I'm not concerned aesthetically, just wondered if it is supposed to happen.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 07:02 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Paul, when you double click an event, what happens to the loop region indicator? Does it cover what it should show, ie the correct clip?
Yes, it covers what it should show and there is no overlapping even at the extreme CU.

Quote:
Is the 'now' time correct (ie showing the first frame of the double clicked clip)?
yes, it is.

Quote:
And it happens to EVERY clip in EVERY existing project?
Not every clip and not every time the same clips. But I have backups of clips and Vegas project settings and this happens no matter what I use from any of the Vegas backups on any of the external drives. It seems to be a problem embedded within my computer, since the problem continues even after a complete uninstall and reinstall of Vegas.

Quote:
When I was playing around just now, trying to replicate your problem, I noticed that the two clips I had loaded *appeared* to be non-overlapping but in fact there was a single frame overlap (which dispayed 0;00 duration) that only showed up at extreme magnification. The result was that when I double clicked on the second clip it did shoot back to the first frame of that clip but it also showed the last frame of the previous clip, presumably at 50/50 composite levels. This was despite having automatic event snapping on.
This is not my case. There is no overlap, thus no 50/50 appearance.

When I said previously that the only fix is to delete the clip and manually replace it by dragging it from the browser, this turns out again not to be always the case; sometimes it fixes the problem, sometimes not and sometimes it fixes it but the problem re-appears after closing Vegas and reopening it. There seems to be little consistency in all my experiments.

The only thing that seems to be consistent is when I build a new project from scratch the "overlapping appearance" never appears.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 07:11 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Inconsistency is SOOO frustrating. I feel for you.

Sounds like a job for the guys at Sony.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 07:54 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Thanks, Ian and Edward. From the practical side, this would be maddening if the problem continued to appear on new projects but since it seems to be happening only with the finished ones, I can live with it. On the few occasions when I have to make changes in the finished projects, I can deal with the nuisance if there will be no solution.

This whole issue just makes me wonder if Vegas would not benefit from allowing us to have a selection of options for where the cursor falls on double clicking a clip; first frame, mid clip, last frame, and current frame.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 09:32 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
This is what I received from Sony today and indeed it is the solution:

Hi Paul,

I apologize for the lengthy response time to your technical support inquiry. We have been experiencing an increase in support demands from new product launches and we have fallen a bit behind on service requests. We have been working diligently to answer as many emails as possible in the order that they were received. I hope you understand and sincerely appreciate your patience.

The only way I can reproduce this issue is if I have Quantize To Frames turned off. Go to Options > Quantize To Frames and make sure this is turned on.

Since it would appear that your edits were falling in between frames, go back and fix the edits so they snap to the beginning of a frame. When you double-click the following event, it will show the first frame of that event.

Sincerely,

Marc S.
Customer Service & Technical Support
Sony Creative Software Inc
1617 Sherman Ave
Madison, WI USA 53704
www.sonycreativesoftware.com
www.acidplanet.com
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network