Onlocation .avi in vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 18th, 2007, 05:43 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hyderabad. India
Posts: 20
Onlocation .avi in vegas

i have installed adobe OnLocation trial on my laptop to capture 720P footage out of my HVX. On the laptop the footage looks good. when i bring the clip to my desktop and try to edit in Vegas, Vegas 6 doesn't recognize the .avi. When i pull the video on to the timeline only audio is heard. am i missing something ?

should vegas and OnLocation be installed on the same physical system for vegas to recognize .avi's captured using OnLocation ?


Krishna.
M. Krishna Babu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 08:08 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
They need to be installed on the same system.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 09:46 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Is this an HD only issue or a standard thing with OnLocation?

I used to, as a matter of course, capture SD using DV-Rack on a laptop then transfer those files to the desktop where I would edit them quite happily in Vegas.

I'd be very disappointed to hear that you now need a second copy of OnLocation on the desktop in order to work with the clips you've captured on the laptop. (Assuming, that is, that you are only licenced to install a single copy of OnLocation - I don't know whether that is the case or not).
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 09:48 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
it's only related to the DVCProHD conversion. If you capture HDV or SD, you can transport those files to any machine.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:00 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Thanks Spot.

Just noticed that you can't upgrade individual elements of CS3 so I couldn't have upgraded from DV-Rack anyway. No self-indulgent Christmas present for me then!

Actually, I have been considering treating myself to the VASST colour correction DVD! Do you have a UK reseller or does it all get shipped from the US?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:05 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Yeah, that's the one, single shame of Adobe acquiring Serious Magic, it left HDV Rack and Ultra users somewhat stranded unless they want to shell out the $$ for the Suite. It's a nice suite, however.

All the VASST DVDs are shipped from our warehouse in Florida. More than likely, it would arrive in time for the holidays if you ordered it right now. Don't forget your DVinfo.net discount, found on the DVInfo.net discount pages... :-)
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:31 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Hmmm, I'm an Ultra user as well (outstanding product - although it's a real shame there isn't a simple 'build-your-own-set' facility - I've seen the stock sets once too often for me to feel comfortable using them without doing some serious editing on the .png's).

As you say, it's a big shame that you can't upgrade CS3 components - it kinda makes a mockery of the 'take as much as you want' strapline.

I have old versions of AE and Photoshop back from the good old days when you didn't have to buy a suite but they don't qualify for any upgrade sadly. I'm trying to get strict on buying new stuff on a whim at the moment - if the business demands it, I'll buy it - if it doesn't do anything materially beneficial for a current or upcoming project then it's on the backburner.

I'll have a word with my Financial Manager about the video (my wife).

Best,

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:19 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hyderabad. India
Posts: 20
" They need to be installed on the same system "

Thank you spot.
krishna.
M. Krishna Babu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network