where is H.264? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2007, 09:39 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
where is H.264?

I remember someone posting here (or was it another forum? -- I conducted a search with no results) how to locate QT's H.264 codec in Vegas 8. I also remember checking that information out at the time and indeed it was there. Now, for the life of me I can't remember what to do to make the codec appear in a list. Does anyone have this information?
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 07:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Pretty sure you pick a container, like .mov, then you pick the codec and adjust the settings.
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 07:34 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
But what I want to do is export my project for someone who needs it to be an H.264 QT movie. In that case I need to first locate the codec under "Render as" and render it to a HD folder. I have QT Pro 7.2. Shouldn't I be able to find the codec within Vegas?
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 09:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
If you go to render as, quicktime, custom, video format you should find H263 not 264, I would like to see H264 too, I have Quicktime H264 in AVS video converter, which works, In QT I always use Sorenson codec
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 09:32 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Here's 3 suggestions from the Sony Vegas forum.

#1. File -> Render As... Type: Main Concept AVC/AAC

#2. Use Sony's AVC encoder if you don't like Main Concept's. Select the appropriate resolution and bitrate for your video & the end result will be good. The .mp4 extension is actually preferable as it's more compatible with devices and apps.

#3. Render an uncompressed AVI, open it in Quicktime Pro and compress it there.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 12:21 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Thank you Mike, that was the one I was looking for! So I had seen it in the Sony group.

Hugh, I have no preferences in this case-- I've been asked to deliver H.264
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2007, 07:25 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
hi Paul. Have u attempted the 3rd workflow? I'm gonna try it tonight to see how it goes. I learnt from Phil (UK) that those wonderful H264 stuff he shot with the Sony EX1 went thru 2 steps to render. Render to mov (current settings in FCP6) and then a 2nd render via QT Pro to H264. The results are amazing.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2007, 10:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Hi Sean, yes through QT Pro was what I ended up doing. I have no regular need for H.264 in my line of work (I'm a 2D animator, so no cameras are involved and I work with uncompressed avi's) but it did look very nice and fit the needs of my MacHead colleague who had asked me for it.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2007, 11:31 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
thks for the feedback! Will have a go at it and see what happens. I think QT runs better on the web the HD WMV somehow.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 03:23 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
I don't know that much about website building, but I always thought it was the opposite. I think QT can be played by anybody but WMV is more restricted to PCs. I have HD WMV clips on my website, which are pretty big and don't think QT could match them with practicality.

www.mydogtulipfilm.com

What I do like about QT is the way you can scrub them frame by frame, which is important for most animators.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network