Problem Installing Vegas 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
Problem Installing Vegas 6

I am on the path of Vegas 6 to Vegas 8 update oon a new computer. As I start the install of Vegas 6, I get the message:
"Unable to adjust the security on server MSSQL$SONY_MEDIAMGR". I re-booted and got the message "The database server failed to initalize properly".

My compouter is running Windows XP SP2.

Is there an easy fix to this?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris Barnes
Chris Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 11:25 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You shouldn't need to install Vegas 6 to install Vegas 8.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 11:41 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
Edward,

I am using the Vegas 6 - Vegas8 upgrade package I bought from B&H.
Chris Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:32 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
A guess here but it seems like when you installed 6 you didn't install or you un-installed the media manager OR just thinking here, perhaps when you installed 6 on the new machine the media manager didn't install properly. I would do a clean reinstall of 6 to get the media manager in place then you should have no problem. However as Edward mentioned 8 is a sepeate install completely, doesn't go into the same folder, so you should be able to just simply install 8 unless you want 6 there also. I've got 4,5 and 6 on the same machine. Just lazy I guess, I never got rid of 4 or 5.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:44 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
Don,

Since my Vegas 8 is an update, don't I have to install Vegas 6 first?
Chris Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:57 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Because you bought it from B&H, yes, I believe you have to install Vegas 6 first.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 01:40 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
OK, I will do a complete de-install and re-install of Vegas 6, watching for the media manager. Hopefully then I can run the upgrade to version 8.

Thanks for the ideas.

Chris Barnes
Chris Barnes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network