Vegas Pro 8 for $178 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 2nd, 2008, 04:09 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles (recently from San Francisco)
Posts: 954
Vegas Pro 8 for $178

I don't know if this has been posted, or if this is the right place to post it (sorry, Chris).

B&H is offering Vegas 6.0 and the Vegas Pro 8 upgrade for $178. Considering that Vegas Pro 8 is a $399 package, this is a pretty good deal. The only negative is that there is no manual provided. I've been a Premiere user for ages, but at this price, I thought it would be a pretty good time to try the Vegas offering. Needless to say, Pro 8 supports HD and HDV. I've just received and installed both from B&H. They installed fine, and both registered with Sony.

Vegas 6 ($79):
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...o_Editing.html

Vegas Pro 8 upgrade ($99):
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Vegas_Pro.html
Paul Tauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2008, 04:37 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
The upgrade link above is incorrect.. the correct link is:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Vegas_Pro.html
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2008, 04:59 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles (recently from San Francisco)
Posts: 954
Thanks, Yang Wen. I've corrected it in the original post.
Paul Tauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 08:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Africa
Posts: 255
Nice tip. Thanks!
Seun Osewa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 11:21 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Doncaster UK
Posts: 42
Vegas offer.

Hi Paul,
checked it out, are you aware that the upgrade is for the "Pro" version, not to upgrade Vegas 6 to pro. status? Michael.
Michael Threadgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 12:02 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles (recently from San Francisco)
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Threadgold View Post
Hi Paul,
checked it out, are you aware that the upgrade is for the "Pro" version, not to upgrade Vegas 6 to pro. status? Michael.
I'm not quite sure what you're getting at. As I said in the original post, you can get Vegas 6 and the upgrade to Vegas 8 Pro from BH. You wind up with Vegas 8 Pro. Is there some reason why you would want to upgrade Vegas 6 to pro status rather than get the latest version of the software?
Paul Tauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 12:45 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanuet NY
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Tauger View Post
I'm not quite sure what you're getting at. As I said in the original post, you can get Vegas 6 and the upgrade to Vegas 8 Pro from BH. You wind up with Vegas 8 Pro. Is there some reason why you would want to upgrade Vegas 6 to pro status rather than get the latest version of the software?
Probably he was referring to the sentence in the B&H product description which says, "This Upgrade to Vegas Pro 8 ... allows owners of a previous professional version of Vegas to upgrade to v8." It could lead one to believe that the V8 upgrade might not work with Vegas 6, if it's a 'non-professional' version. But I gather you've already confirmed that the V8 upgrade DOES work with Vegas 6, right?
Mike Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 12:48 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles (recently from San Francisco)
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Brown View Post
Probably he was referring to the sentence in the B&H product description which says, "This Upgrade to Vegas Pro 8 ... allows owners of a previous professional version of Vegas to upgrade to v8." It could lead one to believe that the V8 upgrade might not work with Vegas 6, if it's a 'non-professional' version. But I gather you've already confirmed that the V8 upgrade DOES work with Vegas 6, right?
Ah, I see. Yes, it does work with Vegas 6. You need to fully install Vegas 6 and then run it once to validate it with Sony (very important step -- it won't work unless you do this). Then you can install the Vegas 8 Pro update. It will recognize the installed and validated Vegas 6 as an acceptable predecessor (it might ask for the serial number again, I don't recall now) and then install itself. Run the validation and it will validate just fine and voila! -- Vegas 8 Pro for a super low price.
Paul Tauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 01:31 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
Recently purchased a PMW-EX1 and sadly adobe is way behind in getting a workable solution. So my options are 1. buy a $450 codec. or maybe 2. buy sony vegas.

Could someone compare the pros and cons of each, no flame wars please... but are they both strictly just editing programs or does vegas handle special effects (where as I would use after effects with premiere) and on that note does vegas work with after effects well?
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 11:36 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 265
vegas can work with after effects through AAF protocol, but premiere and AE are better suited together as your effects in AE are updated in premiere through dynamic link. As far as ease and speed of editing, vegas kicks premiere (i use both), but when it comes to adding effects, AE plugin support is overwhelming in both premiere and AE.

Sound-vegas wins in this area (vegas used to be a multitrack audio program)

if you're just looking for straight cutting a film etc. vegas will get you faster, if lots of effects is important to you, you can cut in vegas and send an aaf to AE or cut in premiere and automatically update the timeline through dynamic link with AE.

Many flavors, choose yours
Roshdi Alkadri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 03:44 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Doncaster UK
Posts: 42
Vegas upgrade

Hi Paul,
Hope I didn't offend. I can't believe the value! This is worth the postage to uk. Not available here- $425 to upgrade ! Import tax may be the catch for me. Michael
Michael Threadgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 12:33 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cromwell, CT
Posts: 81
i just bought the vegas 6 and vegas pro 8 , thanx guys for the info on this great deal. I have vista 64bit ultimate , do i even need to install vegas 6 at all , or do i pop in vegas pro upgrade and go from there? thanx Chris ,
Chris Wysocki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 12:49 PM   #13
Rick Johnson
 
Posts: n/a
Upgrade to Vegas Pro 8

Pop it in and see if it works! It didn't for me, but maybe Sony sent them a new shipment that will.

RJ
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 01:42 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Tauger View Post
...at this price, I thought it would be a pretty good time to try the Vegas offering.
Paul, welcome to the Vegas club. I'm certain that you'll come to like it as much as the rest of us.
BTW, how will you explain this decision to the folks over at rec. video.desktop?
:-)

Quote:
The only negative is that there is no manual provided.
Manuals haven't been provided in a very long time (version 4?).
There should be a PDF on your CD.
If not, grab them from the main Sony site here or Sony's archive site here
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 04:34 PM   #15
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles (recently from San Francisco)
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Wysocki View Post
i just bought the vegas 6 and vegas pro 8 , thanx guys for the info on this great deal. I have vista 64bit ultimate , do i even need to install vegas 6 at all , or do i pop in vegas pro upgrade and go from there? thanx Chris ,
You do need to install 6 first and validate it before installing 8 Pro.
Paul Tauger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network