1920x1080 Screen Size - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2008, 05:25 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 84
Jeff,
I agreed with your input that it is probably related to drivers and the age of the video card but that I was not sure. When I made that statement I was satisfied that I probably wouldn't find a quick answer but then felt completed to respond to the "lip" thing.

Since I will be buying a new computer in March I can live with what I have. I was just looking for anyone who might have lived through this that could provide some insight.

Thanks,
__________________
Harold
BhagaVideo.com
Harold Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:05 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Harold............

I've just checked the Gateway site but can't see their support info without a serial number (and of course, what's printed as a product description is not exactly usefull for the purposes of solving this problem).

I suggest you give this route a try, there has to be a solution to this somehow, and I don't really think buying a new computer is necessarily it.

CS

Sorry if I was a bit snippy yesterday, spending half the day trawling the Apple FCP chat forum investigating another bods problems here on DVinfo sort of fried my brain cells (such a depressing place to be).
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 07:36 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 210
Yo Harold!

Hey bud, it sounds like your monitor (not video card) is not set to 1920x1080
This is most easily accomplished by getting in INF file from the disk that came with the monitor. The inf file tells the pc what the max res of the monitor is.
Look on GW website for this file or on the cdrom that came w/ the monitor. They also seem to have a utility that does this for you, ez sync?

http://support.gateway.com/support/s...dt_mon015.html



--In Windows Display, advanced, go to the video adapter setting and ensure it is at 1920-x1080. THEN go to the monitor and pick the gateway monitor you own.
James Harring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 07:40 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 84
Chris,
I have to disconnect the DVI cable and get a magnifying glass to read the serial number. My readers are not strong enough on their own. So I will do that this weekend and see if Gateway can tell me anything other than what is in their manual (auto size only works with VGA is stated in the manual).

Thanks,
__________________
Harold
BhagaVideo.com
Harold Brown is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network