1920x1080 Screen Size at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 21st, 2008, 10:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 84
1920x1080 Screen Size

When I set my Gateway 24" monitor to 1920x1080 I have to scroll the desktop left and right to see every thing. What am I doing wrong? I am currently running 1680 x1050 so I don't have to scroll. My video cards is a FX 5700LE. Drivers are current.
__________________
Harold
BhagaVideo.com
Harold Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 11:42 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Harold......

You'll find, buried in a menu somewhere (on the screen itself), a tick box labeled "fit to screen" or "fill" or something similar.

Setting it "on" should fix your problem.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 11:46 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
If you find your card definately supports your monitor, uninstall your drivers via control panel/add-remove programs then reboot and re-install your drivers and see what happens.

I would go the manufacturers website and go to their support page and look around for a solution. If your card is a Jaton FX5700 they are buggy for some folks. Good luck.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 11:49 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Good thing you came along Chris... You likely saved him a lot of trouble (if he had listened to me).

Last edited by Jeff Harper; January 22nd, 2008 at 01:15 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 01:05 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
No problem, Jeff.........

Intrigued by the "Nuke the Bastard" approach to problem solving, but hey, I have those sorts of days as well!


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 01:15 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Well, that approach was dicatated by my own experience with a 24" monitor that has no such settings as you described. I have missed the totally obvious on many occasions. Particulary when I'm 22 hours straight on my workstation as I have been this morning, lots of things start to happen, up to and including jumping in to advise someone about a piece of hardware I know nothing about!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 03:00 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Whoa.........

that's a stretch, and no mistake.

Think you better give some thought to doing something about DVT's if you're pulling those sorts of shifts (Deep Vein Thrombosis, got one doing just the same sort of stint on an edit).

And yep, they can really mess with your head (the shift length, not the DVT, not that my head really needs much messing with, it's pretty weird all on it's own).


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 10:48 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 84
I don't have any check boxes to work with and I cannot find anything in the Nvidia drivers. Loaded latest and greatest and still I have the scroll problem. Have to keep working on it. I think it is related to drivers and the age of the video card but I am not sure.
__________________
Harold
BhagaVideo.com
Harold Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 03:54 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Yes Chris, my feet get swollen for sure!

Harold Chris might have been referring to a menu item on the monitor instead of within the nView Desktop monitor. Did you look there?

Have you been to Gateway support?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 05:19 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Harold................

Read my lips:

The Menu you want is on your Monitor! (repeat after me!) "Monitor".

Good.

Now, find the button that steps through the menu (on the monitor!).

CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 05:21 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Breathe in, breathe out...breathe in, breathe out.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 05:53 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Jeff.................

Thanks.

CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 07:44 AM   #13
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Are the Kiwis enjoying a pleasant summer? It's chilly in Texas right now.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 02:36 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 84
The menu button calls up all sorts of settings but nothing to fix the resolution problem. I went through those buttons before I posted my question. Every single one of them multiple times and there is no feature/no button/nothing I can do from the Gateway FHD2400 monitor. I did several searches on the web and still came up blank. The monitor is using the DVI connection. There may be options available to do a sizing using a different input (VGA for example) or with a different model of monitor. The EZTune software didn't have anything to solve this problem either.
__________________
Harold
BhagaVideo.com
Harold Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 03:25 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Harold, we love to help, but have you been to Gateway support? have you contacted your card manufacturer?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network