HDV file edit with no recompression at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2008, 02:01 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
HDV file edit with no recompression

Hi,

I'm trying to use Vegas7 to output an edit (scenes selected from files recording with identical settings) of HDV m2t files from a Sony Z1 without any recompression. I'm using the HDV 1080/60i preset to render as MainConcept MPEG (writes an m2t file), the process seems to take much longer than I would guess to write a file. The same is true for writing to tape. The resultant m2t file looks good, but I can't tell if recompression has occured. Is Vegas recompressing my editing clips during that long rendering time? What are my best choices for saving files with the least amount of recompression as m2t ?

Also, what is the best alternative for rendering to a Quicktime file with minimal/no recompression, as there doesn't seem to be a appropriate preset for an MPEG transport bitstream.

Thanks for any help,

Last edited by Gints Klimanis; February 17th, 2008 at 02:55 PM.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 12:57 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
MPEG stream clip looks promising for cutting m2t files.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 01:14 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
only vegas8 support smart rendering.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 11:18 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Thank you. I upgraded to Vegas8, and Smart Rendering worked for me. During the render process, each little clip that needs no recompression is announced with a black and white message indicating the no recompression is occuring. I'd feel even more reassured if a title bar area or some other area would continuously display that message as well.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 12:21 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
A title bar during the process would only slow it down. Not by enough to care, but what about the guy that has segments that are native, and then segments that aren't?
FWIW, I turn off preview during the render, as it only slows the render. Marginally, but sometimes the tightest deadlines fit into the smallest margins. :-)
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network