Anamorphic, with Sound Too? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2008, 08:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Anamorphic, with Sound Too?

Okay, I know this has to be brain dead simple, but I'm trying to render a project for Anamorphic DVD using DVD Architect Studio 4.5. Help function says to use "NTSC Widescreen video stream", which makes sense. What doesn't make sense to this newbie is the fact that it only creates a video stream: no audio.

How do you get the Audio onto the DVD?!?!

I can't find the answer anywhere, and it's making me feel really dumb!

I've started through the Troxel newsletters and VASST resources, but it takes a while to get your arms around this stuff, eh?
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 08:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Theres a tab to include a stereo audio track... with some options - IIRC you need to go to "custom" or advanced or something like that while in the rendering popup.

Or render again for a 5.1 AC3 and add the second audio track when authoring the DVD in DVDA.

I myself have gotten in the habit of rendering with stereo audio and then rendering the AC3 and using them both - perhaps redundant? Don't know if the 5.1 audio is "backwards compatible", so I've just always done it that way...
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 09:01 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
I did a quick test and got it to work with the separately rendered AC3. the software was smarter than I thought; I kept trying to find a way to associate the two streams, but it did that on its own. Anamorphic much better on the widescreen.

Thanks!
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 05:40 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
As long as your AC-3 file has the same prefix as your MPEG-2 file (i.e. myvideo.mpg and myvideo.ac3) and they're in the same folder, DVD Architect will automatically load the audio file when you load the video file.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 10:38 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida View Post
As long as your AC-3 file has the same prefix as your MPEG-2 file (i.e. myvideo.mpg and myvideo.ac3) and they're in the same folder, DVD Architect will automatically load the audio file when you load the video file.
Thereby proving once again that the software is smarter than I am. :-D
Jim Browning is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network