Vegas Site license ??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2008, 08:43 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Vegas Site license ???

On my (legit) boxed copy of vegas pro 8 there's a sticker on the box which says "site license pack", and "number of licenses included",then there's a space where it looks like there's supposed to be a number written,presumebly for how ever many licenses,that space on my box is blank.
Also when i start the vegas program on my pc,the start up screen states who vegas is licensed to,there's no name on my screen.I've seen the start up screen on other peoples pc'c and their vegas shows who it's licensed to.
When i installed it,i registered it and i've been useing it ever since,no problems.
Have i got unlimited licenses or no more licenses ? I'd like to put vegas on a laptop in the near future.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 08:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
you can install vegas on 2 machines as long as they aren't both being used at the same time. I never have figured that one out but thats's what they say. I have it on 2 desktops and the software gods haven't struck me down yet ;-)
They'll probably get me tonight
OO
\_/

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 09:10 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
When you say "not being used at the same time",do you mean literally,both machines switched on and being used at the same time ???
How does sony know that ?When i'm editing i switch disconnect from the net.
Thanks,Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 09:19 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
you can install vegas on 2 machines as long as they aren't both being used at the same time. I never have figured that one out but thats's what they say. I have it on 2 desktops and the software gods haven't struck me down yet ;-)
They'll probably get me tonight
OO
\_/

Don
I've installed it on four different systems. It seems there's no limit. Just a reliance on honesty. I haven't tried the network rendering, though. I suspect it will baulk.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 06:24 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Here's the official answer, direct from Sony's knowledgebase:


Answer ID 455

Question:

Can I run my Sony Media Software application on more than one PC?

Answer:

Our licensing agreement permits you to install the software on as many machines as you own, as long as you are not running the programs at the same time. For instance, you can install the software on your home machine and on your laptop. You are not allowed to install the software on multiple machines if you are going to be using them simultaneously, such as in a home studio setting. If you are going to run the software concurrently on more than one machine, you would need to purchase a separate license for each computer.

Note that when you install the software on a different computer you will need to complete the registration process again. Register the software as you did the first time to unlock the program on each machine. You can register online directly within the software, via the phone, or on our website through our online form.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 07:43 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Thanks everyone.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 08:38 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
Registering

You wouldn't have the phone would you, I have not seen a phone # I was going to try to chat with someone on Monday, I have a problem getting my programs registered again after switching out Hard Drives, its really annoying
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 11:20 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Hugh, there's a few phone numbers on their Technical Support page.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 11:54 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
took care of on live chat, no problem, considering sony never even answered my initial emails on V8 issues way back when, oh well
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network