"Capture" EX1 files at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 18th, 2008, 04:08 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
"Capture" EX1 files

I was wondering how Vegas handles EX1 files. I went to http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=115439
and downloaded those NATIVE files from Ex1, imported them to timeline and.....my computer was able to preview only 3-4 fps!!!!! Beautiful quality but absolutely unacceptable performance. I consider buying Ex1....
How Vegas captures those files from memory cards, will it apply some sort of codec similar when capturing HDV footage???? or they must be kind of "copy paste" from memory cards (in that case it would be almost impossible to work with them having 4fps preview)
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 08:51 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Marius, you need a strong computer to be able to handle these files.
I went to the site you linked to and downloaded the first clip.
I dropped it on the timeline in Vegas Pro 8, looped it, and pressed play.
Preview window was set to Best/Full.
I got 21 - 23 fps right away.
By the third loop, I was getting the full 25 fps playback.
My machine is a QX 6700 quad core so I know that makes all the difference for files such as this.
I didn't try adding any FX to it to see how this affected playback.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 09:10 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
adding FX will bring Vegas to its knees.
the most effective workaround I've found with Vegas is to convert everything to Cineform CFHD before you drop it on the timeline.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 09:39 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ravens View Post
adding FX will bring Vegas to its knees.
the most effective workaround I've found with Vegas is to convert everything to Cineform CFHD before you drop it on the timeline.

Bill,can you explain this process please .

Thanks.

paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 07:44 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
You have to buy Cinform NEO HD, not their HDV version. The HDV only offers up to 1440x1080, their NEO HD offers full 1920x1080.

Go to Cineform and download their fully functional 15 day trial of NEO HD.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network