How To Spot my Cursor (fast) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
How To Spot my Cursor (fast)

I have my Vegas GUI spread over 3 monitors and it is often a pain to relocate my cursor. I've heard of all sorts of ways to deal with this but never paid attention to it. Now I'm tired of the nuisance and will pay attention. Will someone please point me in the right direction?
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 04:56 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 23
Locating Mouse Pointer...

Paul,

With WinXP you can change the mouse properties to show location of the pointer when you push the CTRL key. When you push the CTRL key it flashes a much larger "target" around the cursor. That's what I use on my lowly 1 or 2 monitor setups (3? - Geez!!).

Hope this helps!

Oops! I re-read what your question is, and I may have misinterpreted...

You are probably talking about the Vegas time/frame cursor? Sorry, I don't know the answer for that.


Ray Johnston

Last edited by Ray Johnston; March 24th, 2008 at 04:59 PM. Reason: Thought about the question more
Ray Johnston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 05:18 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Ray, you answered my question. Thanks. I have three monitors more for the way I work in my graphics program so Vegas just gets a free ride. There I find myself really working on just two of them in most cases so you're not missing out on anything.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 05:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
If you are a keyboard (vs. mouse) person (like me), you can use alt-tab to select Vegas as the active app, and alt-0 to select the timeline. You can then often work with the keyboard, and you won't care where the mouse cursor is located.

If you use a tablet, the cursor location is also less of a problem. Tablets use absolute position, rather than relative and will automatically scale to cover all three monitors.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 06:24 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Jon, the Ctrl key is just what fits my needs. I switch too often between Mirage and Vegas (several times a minute, quite often) to want to select a primary application -- and the Ctrl function suits my needs in Mirage as well.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network