No WMV rendering... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2008, 05:29 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
No WMV rendering...

HI I am fairly new to Vegas but it seems pretty straightforward in the main. I am workign on an Dell XPS 720 H2C - quite a beefy machine and everything has been fine up to now.

Today I went to render a project as a WMV and I keep getting an error message saying that there are no templates for the selected projectthe he media may not support it.

I am sure this is about codec but I have everythign I can find installed and can't seem to find a similar issue on your forums.

Can anyone help?

When I go into the custom template window and select video and then format the drop down list is completely empty!

Please help!

Paul
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 05:39 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Hi Paul.
You've got footage on the timeline yes ?
Ok. So you doing, File>Render as>Save as type>Windows Media Video V9(WMV)

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 07:35 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Hi Paul,

Yes there is a project all set out in the timeline. On one of them I used AVCHD (.m2ts files I believe) from my Sony SR1 and on another it was simply a string of jpegs.

Yes as you described I am going to save as wmv but thats when the error message comes back.

Regards
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:23 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If the presets are not there, there is something wrong with your system. They are there in a standard Vegas installation. I would try installing Vegas again.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 07:59 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
OK did a complete reinstall and still not presets. Anything else you would suggest? I had version 8d installed previous but just install 8 this time to see if that made a difference...it didn't.
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 11:10 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
Paul

You had version 8d installed???? You mean 7d?

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 02:13 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
hmmm... I seem to recall installing an update labelled d. Is the latest version 8.0c? If so would 7.0d installed over the top and screwed my build? I will install the latest update and see if I can get any joy.
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 02:16 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
No just checked at the website it is definately version 8.0d.
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 02:23 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
If it makes a difference, Paul is running Vegas Movie Studio Platinum, not Vegas Pro 8. The version number twigged me to it.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 02:25 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Ah, sorry - perhaps I should of mentioned that. Also I am in Vista if thats makes any difference. :-)
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 03:49 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
Ah - apologies for being presumptious.

But just think how good Vegas Pro will be by the time it gets to 8d......

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2008, 01:54 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Another error message coming back says that I do not have the neccesary window media video codecs? Where can I obtain these?
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 04:40 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
That's pretty strange that you don't have windows media codecs. They come with Windows, even Vista.

You can search for the K-Lite codec pack and install that. It has a pretty good pile of codecs.

Also, maybe you don't have windows media player installed? Under add/remove go to windows components if it's not there.

It's a real head-scratcher that WMV support isn't built-in. (unless it's a quirk with the UK version of Vista?)
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 07:21 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Then this will do your noodle. Everythign seemed to work fine for a while. I have Window Media Player installed and thats still works fine. I have installed the codecs you suggested and that makes no difference. Vegas still tells me that the templates are missing or not compatible and thats after a complete reinstall!

Its beginning to do my fruit because I like to render videos for streaming to my xbox and wmv works best for that.

Any other ideas anyone? I am getting desperate and considering an OS reinstall...
Paul Kenyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 02:29 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kenyon View Post
...Any other ideas anyone? I am getting desperate and considering an OS reinstall...
I really have no idea what's happening here.

One possible workaround - install the freeware Windows Media Encoder 9 from Microsoft. If you can't encode from this, then yes, an OS reinstall may be needed (ouch!).

OTOH, if encodes from WME are working, you might then try vegas again.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network