Why is the AVI so LARGE? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2008, 03:54 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Why is the AVI so LARGE?

I am working on a documentary in Vegas 7.0; when I render the finished project to an uncompressed NTSC .AVI it comes out to be 8.43GB. That seems really big to me being that the video is only 40mins in length. I then take it to DVD Architect which probably compresses the hell out of it.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks.
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 04:00 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
First of all, you did NOT render to "uncompressed" as it would have been MUCH larger. Instead you rendered to DV - the standard of MiniDV cameras. DV-AVI runs just over 12 Gig / hour so 8.4 Gig for 40 minutes sounds about right.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 05:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Do you think it would be better to render as "Default Template (uncompressed)"?

Would that make it look better when I make a DVD with DVD Architect? I am trying to find the best possible way to render and burn a DVD for festival submissions.

I usually render as an .AVI / NTSC DV and make the menu and burn the DVD in DVD Architect.

* btw I said "DVD" 5 times in this post. =)
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 06:21 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
For best quality, render to MPEG-2 and AC-3 from Vegas.
Use a CBR of 8,000,000 or a VBR of 8,000,000 /, 8,000,000 / 4,800,000.
If you have a lot of photos in the project, render at Best as it'll help to maintain image quality.
Give both files the same name (i.e. myvideo.mpg & myvideo.ac3) and render them to the same folder.
That way, when you load the video file into DVD Architect, the audio will follow automatically.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2008, 02:54 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Thanks for that info Mike, I will try that right now.

The Template should be: "DVD Architect NTSC video stream"?
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2008, 06:32 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver Darden View Post
The Template should be: "DVD Architect NTSC video stream"?
That's correct.
After selecting that, click the "Custom" button next to the template box and then click the "Video" tab.
This is where you change the bitrate.
After changing the numbers, you can save it as a template if you want to .
Enter a new name in the Template box at the top of this tab and click the "Save Template" button (looks like a floppy disc).
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2008, 07:32 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
WOW, I burned both the .avi and the .mpeg with the ac3 audio file in DVD Architect for a comparison and the .mpeg version looks so much better.

I am very impressed.

Thanks so much Mike, you're awesome.
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 08:41 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
You're welcome Oliver.
Glad to hear that it worked out for you.
The main reason it looks better is because there's one less layer of compression by going to MPEG-2 directly from the timeline - and this is always a good thing.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 12:15 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paradise, california
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver Darden View Post
Do you think it would be better to render as "Default Template (uncompressed)"?

Would that make it look better when I make a DVD with DVD Architect? I am trying to find the best possible way to render and burn a DVD for festival submissions.

I usually render as an .AVI / NTSC DV and make the menu and burn the DVD in DVD Architect.

* btw I said "DVD" 5 times in this post. =)

actually, the post had "DVD" 6 times, not 5... :)
__________________
"What I need is an exact list of specific unknown problems we might encounter."
Allen Plowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 02:28 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
LOL, thanks for clearing that up Allen.
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network