Time Remapping in Vegas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2008, 04:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vineyard, Utah
Posts: 188
Time Remapping in Vegas?

I'm using Vegas 7d, and I was wondering if there was a time remapping feature like the ones found in AE and PPro CS3?

I know about velocity envelopes, but is there any other way for high-quality slow motion from 60i footage?


My videos ---> http://www.vimeo.com/user453456/videos
Steven Bills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2008, 11:19 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Right click event/clip | Envelopes |Insert Velocity envelope.

This will allow you to go forward or backwards.
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2008, 11:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 149
You are able to Ctrl click the edges and it will allow you to squeeze/stretch your footage.

David Hadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 07:08 AM   #4
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
For flexibility, I would also use velocity envelopes. What exactly is the problem with them that makes you want to use a different method?

Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 11:52 AM   #5
Inner Circle
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,457
The difference between Vegas and AE is that you have better control of the inter-frame filtering/processing in AE. In AE you can go with a) whole frames (frame repetition/deletion), b) frame blending or c) motion estimation. In Vegas, there's just the default filtering, which seems to use frame blending. Same thing for frame rate conversoins (24 <-> 50 <-> 60, etc).

In Vegas 9, I'd like to be able to select whole frames as an option for frame rate conversion. Some other options like no blending on scene changes would be nice too. All of these settings should be available from the render dialog box, and should be independent of project settings. (Though the initial state could be project setting-based.)
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network