Video merging problem in Vegas. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2008, 08:11 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1
Video merging problem in Vegas.

Hi there~

I'm having a bit of a problem in Sony Vegas 8 Pro.

Whenever I try to put one piece of footage on another, either by using greenscreen with video layers or even just putting one piece of footage over another on the same layer so the first fades to become the second, I get a strange problem where there seems to be alot of glitching.

This happens in both the video preview and when I actually come to render the video and play it back on any number of video players.

Here are two pictures of the glitching;
Picture 1
Picture 2

The short little guy standing on the table with the turban is the footage that I have added using greenscreen.
As I play any footage with merged footage like that it will constantly do a variety of strange glitches as shown.

All the video files are .avi format and recorded from the game using fraps.
All files are stored on the same HDD as Vegas itself.


If anyone has any information on how to fix this then I would be most thankful.

Many thanks in advance~
Curtis Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 09:48 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Ignore post
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 11:54 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Seems likely that Vegas does not like whatever codec you're using in the recordings. Options would include testing recording with other codecs, if possible, or, using another tool to convert your existing footage.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 05:41 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
From the Fraps website:

"The Fraps codec (FPS1) is put on the system when you install Fraps. . . . .
Please keep in mind that if you want to give your raw footage to another person they will also need to have Fraps installed."

I would guess you need to follow the advice given on their website and convert it to uncompressed avi using Virtual Dub, thereby ditching any pecularities that Fraps' codec introduces.

Also, have a look through your Fraps settings - maybe you could drop frame rate and size? Are you using the latest Fraps (2.9.4)?

I found a lot of other posts elsewhere by people having problems with the Fraps/Vegas combination. Didn't seem to be any definitive solutions though.

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network