2GB ram isnt enought for SD MPG files project? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2008, 01:14 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
2GB ram isnt enought for SD MPG files project?

Hi.

My friend asked me to make a dvd from a sony hdd sd camcorder.
i connect the cam with usb cable, and copy the mpg files to my HDD.
100 piece of simple pal 720x576 (16:9) mpg files.

Only importing to vegas 8 require about 2min!
maybe this would be not a problem.
after placing clips on the timeline, memory usage go higher and higher, up to 1,3GB! (nothing else program is running, when i exit vegas, mem usage is about 200MB)

this is normal? I dont think so, it seems that vegas handle mpg files very bad.
and when i cut the unwanted parts and go to render to a single file, memory usage go higher and higher again, and render fails. (because it reach the 2GB).

I thinked 2GB would be enough for HDV editing too!
And the reality, that with this system i cannot work not even a 100 mpg SD file project?

help

http://www.relaxvideo.hu/vegas-mem.jpg
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2008, 12:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Prech, I've seen one of your videos, very nice. Sorry no one has an answer for you yet.

Your english is quite good, however it is a tiny bit unclear what is happening, though you explained it as best you could I know.

Have you found a solution yet?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2008, 01:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 44
One question: What means "Importing to Vegas"? Do you mean dropping them on the time line or what are you doing with them upfront?

Axel, San Jose
Axel Scheffler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 01:40 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Jeff,

thank you! i just love nature :)

What's happening with vegas: my proble is memory usage is very high, a lot-lot higher than working with dv avi files. Some days ago i upgrade my pc to 2gb ram, and thinked this would be enough also for hdv editing. And the reality is, that i cannot work with 100 sd mpg files on the timeline and render.
solution was: place only 20 clips on the timeline, rendering to dv avi, then the next 20... etc. editing the dv avi, and rendering this to final single file. this works, but i know, quality degrades :(
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 01:42 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Axel,

importing means click on the import media button and getting the files to the bin. What else?
i wrote that when i dropping to the timeline, mem usage go higher.
and when its time to rendering, vegas crash.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 07:59 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Well, we are glad you found a solution.

You explained it correctly the first time, but wanted to make sure I understood.

Glad you found a solution!

Best wishes!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 08:52 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Prech you still shouldn't be getting the problem that you're getting,i've dropped 115gb of EX1 footage on my vegas timeline,all at the same time,with no problems.
I also have a Sony hdd cam,DCR-SR90,i don't get any problems with this cam and vegas either.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 09:01 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Hi, Paul.
this sounds interesting to me!

How much ram do you have? Can you grab me a task manager screenshot, that shows the memory usage during importing clips?

I dont know whats wrong with my system.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 04:26 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South-Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 216
Possibly d/t the files being mpeg2???

Hey all,

Are the HDD files from the cam in dv or mpeg2 (the same as dvd video?)

Just wondering as I've pulled footage off of dvds and damn if it isn't a sob to work with.

DV is gloriously smooth in multiple streams but one stream of mpeg2 just makes my Vegas s....l....o....w.... d....o....w....n.... and I'm using a dualcore laptop.


just sayin'

sincerely,


ian
Ian Slessor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 05:15 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 93
Some files require Vegas to fall back on a less-memory-efficient decoder, or cause the decoder being used to be less-memory-efficient.

The "File->Import->DVD Camcorder Disc" option is specifically for this need. It fixes up the files in question.

You could also change the files to an intermediate working format by batch conversion. Ideally, this would be transparent, but handling these files on the fly would be exceedingly difficult.
Matthew Chaboud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 12:43 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Hello Ian:
have you read the topic title?
have you read the second and the third line of my first post?
then you have the answer: it's mpeg files, mpeg2 exactly with ac3 audio.

Matthew:
i heard this less-memory-efficien decoder of vegas, but what this really meant? i have to install another mpeg codec? right now only coreavc is installed, and standard xp mpg2 codec. Are you say, vegas use those? Which one? And where can i adjust, what to use for decode?

thx,
Marton
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 07:43 AM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Prech, Matthew told you what to do - use the File - Import - DVD Camcorder Disc option to import those files. That's why that option was added to Vegas - to handle cameras that record to DVDs.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 07:46 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
thx Edward, but this is not a dvd camcorder, it has a hdd.
i transfer the files via usb.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 08:06 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South-Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prech Marton View Post
...it's mpeg files, mpeg2 exactly with ac3 audio.
Yup. Sounds like it recorded straight to the codec that DVDs are rendered in.

Ed, correct me if I'm wrong there.

sincerely,


ian
Ian Slessor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 08:13 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prech Marton View Post
thx Edward, but this is not a dvd camcorder, it has a hdd.
i transfer the files via usb.
Which model camera are you using?
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network