How to put Vegas files back onto Canon HF100? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2008, 11:02 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26
How to put Vegas files back onto Canon HF100?

Can someone please help me out with how to edit a video in Vegas, then put that finished file back onto the HF100 for playback? I've tried creating a mts (renaming to m2ts) file in Vegas and simply copying it back to the HF100, but it doesn't read it. Is there a certain format/spec the HF100 is looking for to show up on the SD card? It looks like you can edit with the bundled Pixela software, then copy it back, but that does me no good since I work with Vegas.
Stephen Byrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 08:16 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Vegas doesn't currently write the correct headers to print this back to the camera. Printback to camera of AVCHD isn't a high priority, IMO, compared to simply being able to import all the different formats.
You might edit in Vegas, drop the edited file into Pixela and print from there.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 11:06 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26
that was my initial thought process too, but unfortunately pixela doesn't recognize the right codec being used to import. the files that it DOES like are H.264 compliant. I can't seem to render a file from Vegas that meets that criteria. I'm sure it's there somewhere, but I can't find it.
Stephen Byrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 11:35 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26
i thought i was on the right track just now. i used SONY AVC as the type, then under custom, i changed the System to MPEG-2 transport stream. it populated all the correct info for the format (including resolution and .m2ts extension), but when i tried to render, it just said "an unknown error has occurred." i wonder if anyone else gets this error?
Stephen Byrd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network