batch convert clips? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2008, 01:34 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
batch convert clips?

Any way to convert a large number of clips into another format?

what I want ideally is to turn my MTS files into smaller quicktime files same name, so someone who cannot handle the HD files can go through them all and watch them and pick which they need and get the HD files?

I use gearshift myself to make dv proxies, which are great but for this making some compressed smaller quicktime files would be better by far. I have maybe a hundred files total over several shoots.
__________________
Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 07:25 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Tools - Scripting - Batch Render is a script that can modify to do what you're wanting. For more control, you might check out the Veggie Toolkit or look for other batch rendering scripts that are available.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 11:59 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: France
Posts: 34
If you are using Vegas Pro 8.0b, you can try this one :
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=582248
__________________
French Vegas Addict.
http://www.cameravideo.net/forum/son...dvd-architect/
Gilles Pialat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 01:39 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Well thanks, I first tried the vegas script but it wanted to do the wyhole project not individual files, but that plug in script looks perfect, I have it running on three instances of vegas on three folders and we will see tonight after I get back if at all worked as well as it seems.


OK hold that, the first file in each crashes.

Ok seems to only work on one instance of Vegas at a time.

I guess that works fine, I just had to move all files into one folder to do them all at once.
__________________
Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 02:33 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
So far ten files down and seems to work perfectly, but as I said only on one instance of vegas at a time, that works for me, I can run it on several computers anyway so I can multitask on multi systems when its real important.

Great find! thanks!
__________________
Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 06:24 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
I'm thinking you'd need to have multiple copies of the script to run it with multiple instances of Vegas - then it should work!
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 08:44 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth Bloombaum View Post
I'm thinking you'd need to have multiple copies of the script to run it with multiple instances of Vegas - then it should work!
interesting, maybe I will try that just to see if it works out. The script worked wonders, did it perfectly as long as it was one running. And I am quite surprised how fast it converted the avchd files, I had some from an hg10 and hv100 very quick.
__________________
Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 11:26 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: France
Posts: 34
Stephen,
I tried my script with 3 instances of Vegas and all works fine for me.
Can you give me more details about the crash that you got ?
__________________
French Vegas Addict.
http://www.cameravideo.net/forum/son...dvd-architect/
Gilles Pialat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 11:28 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles Pialat View Post
If you are using Vegas Pro 8.0b, you can try this one :
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=582248
Gilles, Thanks for this!!!! This is awesome...been looking for a way to do that for awhile now.
__________________
HVR-A1u,WCS-999,HVL-20DW2 w/diff,2xAudio-Technica Freeway 600,Flycam 3000,Vegas 7E
Jason Donaldson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2008, 12:37 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles Pialat View Post
Stephen,
I tried my script with 3 instances of Vegas and all works fine for me.
Can you give me more details about the crash that you got ?
standard error, want to continue

Works great in individual batches and thats fine for me, I can run it that way easily. Thanks its a great script!
__________________
Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network