Multiple sequences within one project? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2008, 06:23 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
Multiple sequences within one project?

I currently use Final Cut Pro. I'm contemplating a switch. How does vegas handle the work flow of multiple sequences within a given project? In FC, I can put together multiple sequences related to the same project and then nest them into a master timeline for the project.
AND on top of that, I can nest MULTIPLE PROJECTS and their master sequences together into a final assembly timeline. More or less a long-form workflow.

Can this/ is this done in Vegas 8?, or is Vegas more of a short project program?
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 06:37 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
With Vegas you create your project, save, and that project file can then be drug onto the timeline of a new project, ad infinitum.

It's called nesting projects.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 07:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
cool, I get that. how about multiple sequences (timelines)within each project?
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 07:52 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Do you mean unlimited number of video tracks, audio tracks, etc? If so Vegas has that, I'm not sure I understand multiple timelines...

I suspect someone else who stumbles upon this thread will know what your asking....
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 08:25 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
not unlimited tracks.
Lets say the tracks make up your timeline. In FC Pro, you can create multiple timelines called sequences. You operate on them one at a time. So in Vegas, your tracks constitute a timeline. Can you develop more than 1 timeline and work on them independently within the same project? Thats what I'm getting at. May not be possible in Vegas.
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 09:07 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 13
You can have muliple instances of Vegas running with different project on each one. Is that what you mean?
Darrin Ward is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network