SHOULD I INSTALL VEGAS 8 PRO yet or wait for upgrades... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 13th, 2008, 12:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Milford Michigan
Posts: 38
SHOULD I INSTALL VEGAS 8 PRO yet or wait for upgrades...

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to Vegas. Just purchased VEGAS 8 PRO from Videoguys.com,
& got a new Toshiba Satellite Laptop with 400Gig Hard Drive, 4 gig of Ram,
& is pre-installed with VISTA SP-1. (64 bit)
My question is this: do I have to wait for the 64 bit upgrade for VEGAS, or
can I install now, and will it work on the above machine?

Secondly, how many installs do I get with Sony Vegas? 1 or 2, or 3?

Thanks very much


Peter Vaughn
Chicago, Illinois
Peter Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 12:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 119
Wait

Vegas 8 Pro is a work in progress that suffers crashes on a regular basis. I'm in the process of transferring a feature to 7.0d to finish it.

Wait until 8.0c comes out, then wait until you start hearing positive things about it before installing.
Mark Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 01:50 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
I don't have 64bit, but i do have vista sp-1 32bit, and vegas pro 8 has been nothing but solid for me, and i have also installed patches a & b when they were released.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 01:58 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
I don't have 64bit, but i do have vista sp-1 32bit, and vegas pro 8 has been nothing but solid for me, and i have also installed patches a & b when they were released.

Paul.
Paul, curious what you're working on. All the problems I've seen personally and heard about involved HD long-form projects.

What media and size (timeline length and complexity) are you working with? How much memory does your system have? What codecs do you primarily render to?

All my crashes have happened on a DVC Pro HD timeline at 720P, rendering out to Cineform and DNX HD files...

I'm really trying to track down this problem, as I am a huge Vegas promoter and don't want to see its reputation suffer needlessly...
Mark Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 02:43 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
And I've been using Vegas Pro 8 for nearly a year and enjoying the benefits it gives me. One of the biggest benefits to me is the new scripting abilities where scripts can now stay active all the time. But there are other benefits as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 04:57 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Vaughn View Post
Secondly, how many installs do I get with Sony Vegas? 1 or 2, or 3?
Unlimited as long as you are the licensed owner in each case and you don't use more than one installation at any given time.

i.e., if you have two desktops in different locations and a couple of laptops, you can install Vegas on all of them as long as you only use it on one at a time.

After a certain number of installs, you will be required to contact Sony to verify you are still the licensed owner (I need to do this but keep forgetting so I can start using it on Vista 64)

You also need to activate each installation online. If the target computer doesn't have internet access, Vegas provides a way to activate it using a different computer.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2008, 03:47 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Holmes View Post
Paul, curious what you're working on. All the problems I've seen personally and heard about involved HD long-form projects.

What media and size (timeline length and complexity) are you working with? How much memory does your system have? What codecs do you primarily render to?

All my crashes have happened on a DVC Pro HD timeline at 720P, rendering out to Cineform and DNX HD files...

I'm really trying to track down this problem, as I am a huge Vegas promoter and don't want to see its reputation suffer needlessly...
Mark.
Media size, all sizes, the most i've had on the timeline at one time was 115gb
footage, from my EX1 and about 20gb from my small handheld cam, used for cutaways etc, which was then edited with multicam.

I usually render to mpeg-2 for dvds (dvd-a), WMV for web stuff or Sony AVC for vimeo stuff.
With my small handheld cam, Sony DCR-SR90, my pc renders in a bit more than real-time for mpeg-2. With the HD footage, about 2.5 times with effects for mpeg-2.

My pc is quad core Q6600,(2.4ghz) with 4gb ram.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2008, 10:59 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 149
Been running Vegas 8 on my Vista 64Bit Ultimate setup for a couple of months without any issues at all, no crashes thus far, rendering my HD footage from my Hg10 has been flawless, waiting patiently for the DVD Architech 5 free upgrade later this month as well as the free 64 Bit Vegas upgrade this fall....Go ahead and install you will be fine....
David Wayne Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2008, 02:59 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Milford Michigan
Posts: 38
OK, I will go ahead and install!!

Thanks David, and everyone for your input.

I will go ahead and install and get to work, & hopefully the crashes will be kept to a minimum.
Peter Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2008, 03:09 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Vaughn View Post
Thanks David, and everyone for your input.

I will go ahead and install and get to work, & hopefully the crashes will be kept to a minimum.
Good luck to you.

As evidenced by the posts here, the problems do seem to be a hit-or-miss affair. It probably depends on each users computer configuration, memory, etc. That's arguably one of the advantages Apple in general and FCP specifically has. Since they control exactly what goes into each Mac, these variables disappear, hence the stability of their OS and software.

I still love Vegas, which I say as I type on my Mac.
Mark Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 12:36 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Miller View Post
if you have two desktops in different locations and a couple of laptops, you can install Vegas on all of them as long as you only use it on one at a time.
To use your example above, how would Vegas know if you're using it on all the computers at the same time? Provided all 4 were activated online, then the internet connection disabled. So now all 4 computers are offline.
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 01:00 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Hopefully your morality and knowledge of right and wrong would prevent you from abusing this policy. Otherwise, it might change to the disadvantage of us all.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 01:15 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
I understand where you're coming from. For me, I have 2 desktops, and 1 laptop that I carry with me on all trips. I may have different projects at the same time. If my wife is using one of the desktop, then I'll edit another project on the other desktop,....That's why I'm wondering.

Thanks,
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 01:39 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norris Combs View Post
For me, I have 2 desktops, and 1 laptop that I carry with me on all trips. I may have different projects at the same time. If my wife is using one of the desktop, then I'll edit another project on the other desktop,....That's why I'm wondering.
Technically that's a violation of the EULA.
It states (emphasis added by me):
Our licensing agreement permits you to install the software on as many machines as you own, as long as you are not running the programs at the same time.
For instance, you can install the software on your home machine and on your laptop.
You are not allowed to install the software on multiple machines if you are going to be using them simultaneously, such as in a home studio setting.
If you are going to run the software concurrently on more than one machine, you would need to purchase a separate license for each computer.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 02:10 PM   #15
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Norris, depends on what your wife is doing on that computer. If she's editing in Vegas, you're technically in violation as you and she are both running a copy at the same time. If she's doing something else and you're the only one editing, then it's fine as you're the only one running the program even though both machines are running.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network