24" or 30" monitor? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 22nd, 2008, 12:35 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
24" or 30" monitor?

I have a 24" monitor and am considering a 30" LCD monitor. If you have had experience going from a 24" to 30" and if you use Vegas on it regularly, I'd like to know if you felt the added real estate was worth the premium price. Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 01:11 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
I was looking real real hard at a 30" monitor. Lost a bid cuz some guy wanted to spend over $1000. I set my limit at $999. I then picked up a 28" for $500. I"ve been very happy with it. I went from a 24" also, the difference is significant. No doubt the 30" is bigger, the day it drops down to below 1 grand is when I'll spend. I am pretty sure you'll love the 28".
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 02:02 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,205
30 inch is great, but still too small if you have a bunch of stuff going on. 60 inch would be about right:) Not sure it would be that much of a improvement from a 28 - but it ought to work as a second monitor alongside the 28 quite nicely.

I'm probably going to add a second 30 incher this year.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 03:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
take note that 30" is usually 2560 pixel and requires a dual-link DVI card. (a dual-link DVI card is NOT a card with two DVI output.)
up to 28" it is generally only 1920 pixel, so regular cards are ok.
28" is great if you think that 1920 at 24" is difficult to read.
you will not get more pixel, but just easy to read.
with 30" at 2560, you will get the same as a 24" at 1920, so no enhancement for reading, just more pixels.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 03:53 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 222
Jeff, I went from 20" to simply plugging into a 32" Samsung LCD TV that became redundant when i replaced it with another. Vegas on this is wonderful to watch. I sit around 3-4 feet away from it and its pin-sharp, and gives me 720P when i need it. I certainly think it was worth it, and editing is easy on the eyes.... But my neighbours think i am over-indulgent. :-)

The problem though is that it is poor for colour grading, well even colour accuracy...

...its a damn shame Matrox dont do the MXO2 for the Windows platform as that now offers any Mac user the ability to use an LCD (as opposed to an ACD) and colour grade on it....so the blurb goes....
Sherif Choudhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 04:18 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I should have stated said that my primary desire for moving up to 30" is for more width, so that I can see more of the timeline. That should be the case moving up from a 24". I wonder just how much more would be visible.

Nice layout John.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; June 23rd, 2008 at 12:15 PM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 06:46 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
If you have a dual-head video card, then you should consider a second 24" monitor. Assuming that your single 24" is 1920x1200, then two of them would be a total screen real estate of 3840x1200. Here is screen grab of my default Vegas editing layout using two 1920x1200 24" monitors.

www.johncline.com/cline3840x1200.jpg
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 11:13 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 16
Monitor size, Is bigger REALLY better?

I agree with JC above. If you go 2 bigger monitors, you're likely going to have to up the video card to match it. Kinda like, you cant just buy bling...you gotta have the ride to go with it.
Yeah.
Bob Lange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 11:05 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Cline View Post
If you have a dual-head video card, then you should consider a second 24" monitor. Assuming that your single 24" is 1920x1200, then two of them would be a total screen real estate of 3840x1200. Here is screen grab of my default Vegas editing layout using two 1920x1200 24" monitors.

www.johncline.com/cline3840x1200.jpg
John,

How do I do the screen capture?

Thanks,
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 11:33 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,770
Hi John,

Are you running Vegas 8? If so how did you get the timeline on top? I like having it on the bottom but with this new version it seems stuck on top.

I also agree that having dual monitors is much better than one large one.
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 12:05 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I can answer that for you. Go to Preferences then Display, you'll see it.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 12:42 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You can get a screenshot by simply pressing "Print Screen" which places the current screen on the clipboard. Then open your paint program and paste.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 12:48 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,770
Thanks Jeff,

I've was going crazy trying to drag things around in the window. Now why I didn't think to look at the preferences I don't know. Duh.
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 12:52 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I understand, even after I knew where it was I forgot the first few times and had to hunt for it...
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 07:11 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I very much appreciate the feedback on this topic. I have reversed course. I realized that while a 30" monitor would be tons of fun, etc., the practical purchase for me is a JVC NTSC monitor that was recommended months ago to me by folks on this forum.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network