magic bullet looks 1.1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2008, 12:18 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
magic bullet looks 1.1

could I get a recommendation on a video card for vegas 8 and the new mb looks
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 07:21 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
For Vegas 8, any card will do. For Magic Bullets, look at their website and see what they recommend.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 01:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
sorry, any card will not do, I wish it did, cannot even install if the right card is not present, radeon 6600 and above, nvidia 8600 and up something like that. its in the help section after you download, now I had to go back to a machine I didn't like, a dual core 3 gig, so I can now get the right card. haven't decided on one yet. I even put a ticket into support at Redgiant, they are supposed to call me. I had a radeon 128 mb 9200, didn't work, its cause the MB Looks uses the card GPU along with the computer, something like that. I guess MB does take some power depending which filter is used. MB likes a card with 512 mb.
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 01:26 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
Yes Edward Vegas will use whatever, I only wish MB would, its making me go thru all sorts of hoops just to buy the software, oh well!
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 06:25 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
No doubt now what cards will work with Magic Bullet 1.1, this was from MB:



Update for Case #5832 - "when installing it says video card won't work"

Hugh,




It means that with ATI, you must have at least 1000s series and above [1600/1900, ect.. (1000 series)].

See ati.com for more cards.


For Nvidia, you can use 6600 and above with Looks.

see Nvidia.com for more cards.



Thank you,

Jeremy
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 09:04 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bruce Pennisula, Canada
Posts: 316
I'll just confirm the above....

In my case I have a MSI nvidia 7800GT.....runs great with MB Looks 1.1.
James Hooey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 10:49 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Hugh,

I have an NVidea 8800 which renders fast but also causes problems with After Effects.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 12:05 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Marc,

Just upgraded my vid card to geforce Nvidea 8400GS (512MB), and I also found AE7 to be acting weird. (Didn't have a problem with a five year old ATI 128MB vid card?!?) What gives?

And now Adobe Bridge won't work in AE7 :(
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 11:40 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Hi Jeff,

Do a google search on "8800 after effect problems". You find a long thread on the Adobe website with people complaining about problems. What issues are you having? I find that my screen periodically shifts down and to the right about a quarter of an inch and then back again. If I'm accesing a menu everything gets jarbled.

Regards, Marc
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2008, 05:25 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Marc,

I'm not in front of my edit PC at the moment, but the general problems with my new vid card is that it seems slower than my older card. (New vid card at 512MB; old vid card at 128MB.) And I'm also just understanding that "most" vid cards don't help with render times in AE7; it uses mostly CPU and RAM.

But on a positive note, with some researching, I think I may have a solution to why Adobe Bridge isn't working for me (saying there's a licensing issue, and/or another application must be opened). Will need to see if it works in the coming days.

Any of you folks using MB Looks in Premiere, then importing that Premiere file into AE, but the file is missing the MB Look footage (un-color corrected)? Hmmm...

Best,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2008, 05:43 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BR
Posts: 170
Guys, with the 8800 be sure to turn off Gamma AA, Regular AA, AF and these stuff.

With old drivers I used to get a lot of crashes in AE. Turning these settings off would do.

Now, with the newest driver (175.16) I don't get any problems with any apps.
__________________
Pietro Impagliazzo
flickr.com/photos/impagliazzo
Pietro Impagliazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2008, 10:24 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
My MB looks 1.1 works well in Vegas 8. I love it. Its so damn cool n works ok with my 8800 GTS so far.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2008, 11:30 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Pietro,

You're right, after downloading the recent driver for my 8400GS card, everything seems to work better. My monitors (VGA & DVI) looks better as well.

How do you turn off "Gamma AA, Regular AA, AF and these stuff"? Is it thru the vid card, or After Effects?

Sean--I was turned into MB Looks just recently, and by golly it is amazing!

Best,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 05:00 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BR
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Anselmo View Post
Hi Pietro,

You're right, after downloading the recent driver for my 8400GS card, everything seems to work better. My monitors (VGA & DVI) looks better as well.

How do you turn off "Gamma AA, Regular AA, AF and these stuff"? Is it thru the vid card, or After Effects?

Sean--I was turned into MB Looks just recently, and by golly it is amazing!

Best,
It's through the driver.

Go to the nvidia control panel and then go to 3D settings.
It's all there.
__________________
Pietro Impagliazzo
flickr.com/photos/impagliazzo
Pietro Impagliazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 10:27 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Yeah Jeff.. its a great investment certainly. The rendering is not as bad compared to the freebie plugin back in V7.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network