Sync'ing up my preview monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2008, 09:35 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 20
Sync'ing up my preview monitor

My external preview monitor image slowly drifts out of sync over time. Adjustments in preferences don't help, it always drifts over time eventually.

After doing some research, I am assuming this is due to my sound card, a Creative Audigy II ZS, and that I need a capture card or breakout box of some kind, like those made by Canopus/Grass Valley to lock the audio to an external reference.

My question is, those of you who use a hardware solution to deal with this, what is your preference for hardware, keeping in mind that I am on a fairly limited budget? Sync'ing up that preview monitor is essential to me, mostly to keep people from breathing down my neck while I work.

Last edited by Kevin Badami; July 7th, 2008 at 02:11 PM.
Kevin Badami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2008, 10:08 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Munster, IN
Posts: 61
Same question different issues

Hey Kevin I'm anxiously waiting for answers to your question, as I just purchased a Black magic Sp card, and I'm wondering if I should use the outs from that for audio monitoring, or should I get a separate card?

I've never noticed much drift myself, but one quark I noticed, that I'll share with you, sometimes when using JKL a lot, I notice some drift. Just hit stop, and you'll see the video "catch up" after the audio stops. Now you're back in sync for a critical edit.

Chuck
Chuck Pullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 11:12 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 20
Yeah unfortunately I need to sit and screen assembled shows that are quite long so I can't afford any drift to happen. Anyone have any recommendations?

For that Blackmagic card why wouldn't you use it to monitor audio? Analog outs and SPDIF both on that I see. I suppose you would still be using your computer's sound card or mobo to monitor the PC's audio separately, through a mixing board, but that's just a guess...
Kevin Badami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 09:38 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Munster, IN
Posts: 61
BlackMagic Audio

Yeah I actually had a brainstorm the other day. I purchased a 4x4 Sierra router on E-bay. My plan was to make # 1 the Blackmagic card, and # 2 out my monitoring (Video to my plasma and audio through a mini mixer to a set of M-audio speakers) Then of course 3 & 4 can be tied into my dub decks. The nice thing about that is I can re route audio to monitor what's coming off the decks. Only probblem is I have to make up 16 or so XLR's and tie them into the router, so it'll be a bit before I get it up and running
Chuck Pullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network