ERROR In Vegas Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 20th, 2008, 10:09 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Woodlawn Ill
Posts: 61
ERROR In Vegas Capture

Hi All,


Well filmed my little ones in the production CATS last night and now trying to capture the footage. So when i opened up this morning i get an ERROR " Microsoft AV/C Tape Subunit Device" could not be opened. What the heck is this? Never had any problems, haven't changed anything. Just stumped.


Thanks,
John
John Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 12:20 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Things to try:

1. Verify you're using the correct capture app (DV vs HDV)
2. Verify the camera is set correctly (DV vs HDV)
3. A different camera
4. A different firewire port
5. A different firewire cable

When you plug in the camera and turn it on, is Windows recognizing the camera?
If Windows recognized it and Vegas doesn't, does another capture app?

The goal is to narrow down exactly where the issue is located.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 03:49 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
I'm going back a while now but I once had a similar problem. After a great deal of digging I discovered that there was a conflict between my old Canon XM2 and a firewire hard disk drive. It seems that the Canon did not like to share the firewire bus with the hard disk. I resolved it by switching to USB drives.

Long shot, but may be worth looking at?

Good luck.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 03:54 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Woodlawn Ill
Posts: 61
Ian is the Winner

Thanks for the replies. Edward I had tried all those things, just didn't put them in the post, next time will put all information up since its hard to know what level everyone is at. Ian I did have 2 external drives plugged into that same bus , unplugged and behold its a miracle it works.



Thanks

John
John Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 04:00 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Great! Glad that worked for you.

I recall the expression "data storm" being used when I was researching the problem - in other words, the data back and forth from the drive(s) plus the data coming in from the camera was just too much. I guess that's what was happening with you.

Out of interest, is it a Canon camera you're using?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network