long AVI render time at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 30th, 2003, 06:02 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 14
long AVI render time

I'm a Vegas newbie and working on my first project. I'm currently rendering out a 3 min. clip to AVI and it's still rendering (@ 27 min. elapsed and counting).

I have a P4 2.4 with 1GB RAM. Am I doing something wrong here? Just a side note: my CPU is running hotter than any other Premiere task.
Daniel Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2003, 06:16 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
You didn't mention the type of encoding. For good MPEG-2 encoding, it can take a while. Even though you have a fast CPU and lots of RAM, other factors may apply: disk speed, disk fragmentation, disk usage, disk DMA mode.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2003, 06:47 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 14
As I mentioned, I'm exporting from the timeline to .avi file.
Daniel Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2003, 09:31 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Still too little informaton. How many tracks, how many effects, how many.....

Perhaps post the VEG file somewhere and we can look at it to determine if something can be done to speed things up. There are some little "gotchas" such as sliding a track level below 100% by accident that can really increase rendering time.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 02:10 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 14
5 tracks (4 video, 1 audio). 6 effects. 3:30min. total for clip.

I just realized that I'm rendering as well as exporting to avi. Also, almost all the video clips are slo-mo'd.

total render time is approx. 28min. So, with the combined actions of rendering and exporting, this would explain my perceived 'slowness' compared to premiere. my bad, still getting used to the new workflow.
Daniel Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 06:47 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
In other words you didn't pre-render your footage effect prior to enoding/exporting it?
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 08:47 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I never pre-render. Just do a File - Render As.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 09:18 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
What I meant- Was that the reason encoding was taking so long...because he didn't pre-render?

Isn't prerendering a good idea if you have alot of effects that way the footage can at least be at a viewable frame rate to view prior to making final encoding. If there were just simple cuts and dissolves I wouldn't imagine a need for pre-rendering.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 10:19 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Maybe, maybe not. I can usually get a good enough idea without pre-rendering. Plus, you have to be careful or you will lose the pre-renders. I guess the question becomes: do you want to spend the time rendering now or do you want to spend the time rendering later? I usually choose "later" and let it render while I sleep.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 12:12 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 14
That is correct, I did not pre-render. The RT preview is great, so i'll plan to render later, in one shot (hopefully while i'm sleeping).
Daniel Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 12:13 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
So really you never render at all- for example...if you have a span of like several clips that needed color correction that last for, say, over 30 minutes. You simply apply the color correction but don't pre-render, when your done you go straight to encoding of MPG2? Unless, of course you need to PTT which will require that everything (all the color correction clips) be rendered. Did I grasp all that correctly?

Also, you mention loosing your prerenders. Is it the same principal as in Premire when you drag a rendered clip on the timeline and end up having to re-render it because you changed it's position on the timeline? Is there a way to avoid this beings the pre-render is still on the HD...is there a way to point the section or clip to the prerendered version so you don't have to RE-render it soaking up double, tripple, or even more HD space the more you drag rendered clips around the timeline?
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 12:16 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Well, kind of. I edit in sections. So, I would render that section to a new AVI after editing is completed on that section. Once all sections are complete, I make a "final" project consisting of those sections. That is what I would render to MPEG2.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 12:22 PM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
So there is no difference in quality between doing a prerender of a section as opposed to actually rendering it out as an AVI. Just the bonus to be able to move the new avi as you please and not lose it's link to the prerendered file?

Lastly, you never encode from an unrendered timeline? What's the draw-back, just a reduction in speed?
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 01:22 PM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
There should be NO quality difference between a "pre-render" and a "render" of the same section. They both do exactly the same thing.

When I render to MPEG2 from the "final" project, I have the edits between clips (dissolves between sections or fades to/from black...) on the timeline. So, those edits have NOT been rendered or pre-rendered before going to MPEG2. I do NOT create a final 1 to 2 hour AVI - I print to tape and render to MPEG2 directly from the final project assembling the pieces.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 03:24 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
4 tracks, slow-mo'd, effects, etc. - 27 minutes to render 4 minutes of footage sounds about right.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network