Stop motion frame importing in Vegas 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2008, 05:55 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Stop motion frame importing in Vegas 7

Currently using Vegas 7, but soon to be using Vegas 8.

Shooting stop motion on a Canon D-SLR, about the equiv. of 8 frames per second of real time. Importing the frames into Vegas through the import-photo string-somethingorother, which imports it as a full video clip at the standard time frame of my timeline (24p).

Now... what I need to do is import those jpgs so they are 3 frames each (8fpsx3=24p)

I could just use a .33 velocity envelope, but I figure there has to be a "correct" way of doing it. Anyone have any suggestions?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 09:01 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
The following assumes that, in Project Properties, you have your Frame Rate set to "24.000 (Film)".
Your Template should say "Custom (720x480, 24.000 fps)".

If the Template is set to "NTSC DV Widescreen (720x480, 29.970 fps)" or "NTSC DV 24p Widescreen (720x480, 23.976 fps)", the numbers should be very similar but double-check them to be sure.

Go Options > Prefs > Editing.

Set "New still image length (seconds)" to between 0.125 and 0.166.
Any of these will give you a length of 8 frames at 24.000 fps.

Disable "Automatically overlap multiple selected media when added".

Now, instead of opening the images as a "still image sequence", select all of them and drag them to the timeline.
Each image will be the required 3 frames in length.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 11:26 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Thanks Mike, trying it now.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 12:18 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
That worked well, but the footage looks choppier than I thought it would. Anyone have any ideas how to smooth it out a bit?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network