Vegas/architect Demo limitations at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2008, 08:51 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Vegas/architect Demo limitations

I'm about to reinstall my OS due to a bad drive, and I might have used up all of my activations of Vegas and Architect. Since I can't contact Sony till Monday in the event that I need to get their help, wondering if I can work unfettered with the Demo versions if needed...anyone know what kind of limitations come with the Demos? I need to render out projects and burn them on fully functional DVDs with menus...any thoughts?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 09:08 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
I'd try an online registration and hope for the best.
As I recall (and someone please correct me if I'm wrong), the demo won't let you do MPEG encodes so you'd be up the creek for burning DVDs until Monday if you can't register them :-(
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 10:09 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
As far as I know, Sony doesn't stress over the activations. Just install, enter the serial #, and register online. Is there another process you're using? I've re-installed my main computer about 3 times over it's lifetime, I don't remember having to do anything special with the Sony products.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 11:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 84
You just install and put in the key. No problems at all.
__________________
Harold
BhagaVideo.com
Harold Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 01:27 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I've used up my activation limits twice already. Sony is really great about renewing them, but the last time they weren't quite as friendly....

I've reinstalled at least ten times...been changing OS and hard drives, etc., been a terrible month. Finally found the bad hard drive in my raid array....I'm reinstalled, now to try Vegas...I need to work this weekend so hopefully it will go through...we'll see.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 09:28 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
The activation history for a given license is maintained on Sony's server(s) rather than your hard drive. Hence, there isn't any information stored on the hard drive that will get removed. Once you reach a certain number of activations, you have to contact Sony and they will enable additional activations. I have Vegas installed on a couple of laptops and my main desktop. On the desktop, it is on four different partitions. I recently installed it on a new Vista 64 partition and I got the message stating I had to contact Sony. The only problem is that by time I get home from my day job, their lines are closed so I haven't gotten around to it yet.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 10:35 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Miller View Post
Once you reach a certain number of activations, you have to contact Sony and they will enable additional activations.

This is what I'm saying, I've had to call them twice already. Not sure that I said anything about information being on hard drive, unless I misunderstood your response.

Thanks everyone.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 10:46 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Oh.

It seemed you were saying that you were going to reformat your system and then reinstall Vegas thereby removing any registration info.

I was also providing clarity of the process to others reading the thread.

Sorry to confuse...
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 11:52 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thank you John, I am not always as clear as I should be...I meant that by reinstalling OS, etc, I knew I would have to re-activate, and there are limited number of activiations. It worked this time...BTW...surpising since I've re-activated at least five time since the last call to Sony.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network