Flash transition - widescreen at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 30th, 2008, 08:46 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 193
Flash transition - widescreen

Is there a way in V8 to only have the flash of the transition only happen within the "widescreen" area? I rendered a file in Windows Media player, and it looks great, minus the flash that happens outside the actual video boundary (on top and bottom). I don't see any settings anywhere, but there HAS to be something, right? Thanks! Here is a link to view what I'm talking about... THANKS!
www.vimeo.com/1435774
Dawn Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2008, 10:49 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
there is nothing such "outside the actual video boundary ".
ether it is in the video , or it is not.
in your case it seems you get a letterboxed video, this means a 4:3 where you use only the middle to display a 16:9 strip. If you do that, the computer has no way to know that the black bar at top and bottom are not part of video.
you best guess is then to add black bar over the video to cover all the "spills" that could be generated.
or better you can edit the video in real 16:9 format (anamorphosed or not).
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2008, 12:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giroud Francois View Post
there is nothing such "outside the actual video boundary ".
ether it is in the video , or it is not.
in your case it seems you get a letterboxed video, this means a 4:3 where you use only the middle to display a 16:9 strip. If you do that, the computer has no way to know that the black bar at top and bottom are not part of video.
you best guess is then to add black bar over the video to cover all the "spills" that could be generated.
or better you can edit the video in real 16:9 format (anamorphosed or not).
I am editing in 16:9 format and then rendering into .wmv file. There are no "widescreen" options, so I just don't understand why it its "letter boxing" my video. Help?
Dawn Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2008, 03:09 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
add a new track on the TOP of your project and place a mask there. That will eliminate the transitions from going into the letterboxed area.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2008, 03:13 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I know what you mean Dawn, it stinks that there isn't a widescreen option...

Here's a fix, go to render/custom/video/find the pixel aspect ratio box and change it manually to 1.2121 and you're good to go.

You can also change the image size of the video in the image size box, but it is not essential, just means you'll have extra black but won't hurt anything.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2008, 07:04 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
I know what you mean Dawn, it stinks that there isn't a widescreen option...

Here's a fix, go to render/custom/video/find the pixel aspect ratio box and change it manually to 1.2121 and you're good to go.

You can also change the image size of the video in the image size box, but it is not essential, just means you'll have extra black but won't hurt anything.
Thanks... this sounds like it makes sense. I wasn't sure I was explaining myself correctly, but I'll try it and see what happens! THANKS!
Dawn Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2008, 07:21 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
If I understood your problem to be the same as the one that I had answered here recently, it will work...if not then it is something else...hope it works for you.

Here's the thread that helped me, LOTS of information here....http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=123951
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network