Render "lossless" at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 2nd, 2008, 02:58 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 1,400
Render "lossless"

I'm making several short software sales videos that consist of screen captures from Camtasia. In Vegas I'm basically syncing the descriptive audio with the screen captures. I'm not applying any effects and pretty much the only manipulation of the source video is to freeze the screen (using the velocity envelope) until the audio catches up.

As I watch the preview, it is a perfect representation of the source video. However, when I render, I get a small amount of artifacts, and some of the text color (specifically red and blue) are noticeably different. It doesn't matter what format I render to, even uncompressed avi.

Is there some setting I'm missing to make the output perfectly match the input?
Chris Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:12 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
with video it is almost impossible.
any format you can put on a distributable media will be 4:2:0 in a standard user world (DV, DVD)
means you got only quarter resolution for color. very bad for computer pictures.
mpeg2 allows for better rendering (4:2:2 and even 4:4:4) but not on DVD.
all these video compression are more like lossy JPEG compression than GIF.
Additionally computer generate picture with higher resolution than video (usually starting at least with 800x600 while video stops at 720x480/576)
the codec you usually get for screen capturing are specially crafted to keep resolution intact (more like a GIF compression than like a JPEG) while displayed on computer screen.
going HD with blu-ray could be a solution.
On Apple Mac, screen capture is often enhanced by zooming on the picture.
look at this video to see what i mean (interstingly , the guy capture Windows stuff as well on the mac by running a windows emulator).
Even there, you got a flash video that is targeted for computer and you can hardly expect to get resutlts as good as this one from video.
http://www.reykroona.com/?p=41
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 1,400
This will not be distributed on DVD or Blu-ray. It will be converted to flash video for use on a website or desktop application. I already have a lossless codec for flash, but it's only as good as the source video.

I'm rendering to the same resolution as the source.
Chris Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:24 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
so it seems you edit the source video under a codec that is lower quality than your source.
saving to uncompressed video would not change, since rendering would first create the temporary file under the lossy codec.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:30 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 1,400
How do you select a codec under which to edit? Perhaps this is the piece of the puzzle I'm missing.
Chris Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:42 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
i do not know vegas, but as most of NLE, you have to open a new project , defining resolution and codec you will be working with (usually the same as source).
when you edit is over, you can convert to lower size/resolution for test.
for sure, if you select any preset made for video editing, you probably are on the wrong side
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:53 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
You do not need to do this with Vegas, and you are not losing anything by dropping the source file onto the vegas timeline. Vegas does not work like Final Cut.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 05:48 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Davis View Post
How do you select a codec under which to edit? Perhaps this is the piece of the puzzle I'm missing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
You do not need to do this with Vegas, and you are not losing anything by dropping the source file onto the vegas timeline. Vegas does not work like Final Cut.
With Perrone on this one - Vegas has its own internal preview system. Matching project properties to source media produces the best preview results, but is not mandatory. This is what allows you to drop (almost) any media of any resolution on any Vegas timeline and edit. Seems like other NLEs are also now moving in this direction, but Vegas has allowed this from the beginning.

*******************
The task at hand:

Render to AVI, go to the "custom" dialog, video tab, video codec, give a try to TSSC - this is the Camtasia codec, and should give good results for output for your flash encoder. If the initial capture was on a different machine and you don't have the TSSC codec on your vegas PC, I believe the codec is freely available from techsmith.com, either packaged with a player or standalone.

The color-shifting problems I've occasionally had with some screen-capture clips have mostly been solved by doing an intermediate re-render to the same codec. This has been kind of an uneccessarily lengthy process, but proved to be a solid workflow. See color changes in final render - go back and intermediate render 1 or 2 source clips and output final render again - repeat until done!

I've also had good luck with Camstudio, which comes with its own screen codec, similar to Camtasia's TSSC codec.

PS. perhaps you already know this; best appearance is created by working backwards from final output resolution (don't forget to make allowance for taskbar, flash player window border, flash player menu bar) and using that resolution for initial capture, for vegas project resolution, for intermediates (set render rez in the custom dialog and save it as a preset) - use it for everything and never rescale.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network