Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2008, 12:52 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 565

Hi ,

anyone out there who is experienced how to bring a Vegas timeline into FCP?

(EDL, XML, Scripts, whatever)

I know there will be limitations, but I am sure there is a way to bring a rough timeline (cuts, fades?) into FCP for further editing...

Any ideas? Experiences?


Uli Mors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2008, 12:31 PM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,763
Take a look at the import Vegas edl into FCP - ? thread on the Cow Vegas forum.
One poster wrote a script that's supposed to work with a Vegas EDL.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 11:04 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, NYC
Posts: 367
Hi Uli --

I'm trying to figure out the best method as wel. If you (or anyone else) has any further info or tips -- it would be much appreciated.

In the above link/thread -- How does one apply the script? What are the steps involved?

Thanks for the link, Mike.
James Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2008, 05:34 AM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oxford (UK) and Vrindavana (India)
Posts: 118
Also interested


good question. I found Vegas for certain projects so much easier to use then FCP too.

The fish is the last to know the water.
Pavel Tomanec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2008, 09:15 AM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kalispell, Montana
Posts: 164

I've run EDL's before across platforms and NLEs. The real issue was what was different within the editing software's description of effects and transitions. Cuts, were of course, fairly straightforward. In Vegas, you can Tools>Scripts>EDL or File>Save as txt or if you the ability to save the media with EDL (as with an external drive) I reasonably sure that FCP can read AAF media with and you pack it with the SAVE MEDIA option, too.

My best,

Mike Gunter
Mike Gunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2008, 11:18 PM   #6
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
about a year ago i ( using vegas) was trying to trade edits with editor using FCP ...
we didn't find any common way to get them to work .. i dont' remember FCP having AAF ??
the FCP EDL was correct on every other shot in vegas ( so if this was A/B conforming - then Vegas could get the A track correct but not the B track ) ...
Don Donatello is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network