Audio channels volume controls at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2008, 01:40 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Audio channels volume controls

in Vegas, how do I display both, left and right, audio channels volume control, now I do have both wave graphs in sound track, but the only one volume for both,
I need to bring down right and bump up left channel (for example), men, I can't recall how's done,
Many thanks!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 01:42 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
On the track header, you use the slider for left to right balance.
it'll show a pink (i think) line which shows where you change the balance.
I'm not sure how to display both tracks as 2 seperate streams though. I wouldn't mind knowing that myself.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.

Last edited by Paul Kellett; August 19th, 2008 at 01:44 PM. Reason: .
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 01:57 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
split the track then use pan envelopes or the sliders on the track headers for Left and Right.

There are scripts out there to split the track OR you can copy and past the track to a new track then set 1 track to left channel only and the other to right channel only. You can do that by right clicking on the track and goto CHANNELS>. There is another menu there that will say BOTH, LEFT only, Right Only Combine and Swap. Choose your poison and you're all set.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 02:02 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
split the track then use pan envelopes or the sliders on the track headers for Left and Right.

There are scripts out there to split the track OR you can copy and past the track to a new track then set 1 track to left channel only and the other to right channel only. You can do that by right clicking on the track and goto CHANNELS>. There is another menu there that will say BOTH, LEFT only, Right Only Combine and Swap. Choose your poison and you're all set.

Don
How do i split the track ?
And where is "channels" ?

Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 02:09 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Found channels.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 02:11 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
to split the track without a script, simply C&P the track to a new one then use channels to use LEFT on 1 and RiGHT on the other.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 02:14 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Ah yes i see.
Thanks Don.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 08:22 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
split the track then use pan envelopes or the sliders on the track headers for Left and Right.

There are scripts out there to split the track OR you can copy and past the track to a new track then set 1 track to left channel only and the other to right channel only. You can do that by right clicking on the track and goto CHANNELS>. There is another menu there that will say BOTH, LEFT only, Right Only Combine and Swap. Choose your poison and you're all set.

Don
Thanks Don, that does the trick, can't believe there is no native Vegas option for that;
this is a second thing, after speed /duration control, that is easier to do in Adobe, but that's probably it :)
Many thanks!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 09:27 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
There are scripts out there to split the track
Edward Troxel has a free one on his site.
You may need to be logged in to be able to get it but it's quick, painless and spam-free.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 01:04 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: France
Posts: 34
Another one here:
Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Pro - Scripting Messages


.
__________________
French Vegas Addict.
http://www.cameravideo.net/forum/son...dvd-architect/
Gilles Pialat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 07:52 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles Pialat View Post
I've downloaded these scrpits, now what do i do with them ?
How do i install them ?

Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 07:53 AM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Buba, splitting tracks is a very simple process but does take a few steps to accomplish. That's one reason why I, and others, have written the scripts to make the process a one button click.

As for velocity/duration, can you explain further? The process is pretty simple in Vegas so I'd like to hear your thoughts on that. Also, once again there may be scripts out there to simplify your needs even more.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 07:57 AM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Paul, if you download mine from the link Mike provided, you simply place the file you download into Program Files\Sony\Vegas ???\Script Menu

It looks like the ones from Gilles would also go into the same location.

Plus, the two *big* scripts (Excalibur and Ultimate S) will both do this as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 08:02 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Ah yes, i sussed it .
Thanks Ed.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network