64 bit freezing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 12th, 2008, 12:57 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
64 bit freezing

OK, here we go. My shiny new installation of 8.1 is freezing up. Started to occur after changing preview device.

Runs fine as long as I don't try to preview with secondary display. When I do that, Vegas 8.1 freezes and and must be shut down.

Have tested 32 bit version, external preview device still works. At this point it looks hopeless. Hopefully a workaround will be discovered.

Running all newest drivers. Workstation is workstation class machine and built 64 bit from the ground up by Dell.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; September 12th, 2008 at 07:11 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 01:43 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
More likely a video driver problem than a Vegas problem, IMHO. You might check for the latest drivers.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 07:08 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
The preview monitor is a JVC broacast hooked up through a canopus box via firewire, so I'm not sure video drivers would affect it, but nevertheless drivers installed are taken directly from manufacturers website days ago anyway.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2008, 08:53 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Okay. Not a video driver problem. Could be a 1394 driver/hardware problem, but if your drivers are up to date, probably not.

Still, keep an eye out for driver upgrades. Often, people blame apps when it's really a hardware or driver issue.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 12:45 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
OK, thanks Jon.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 01:49 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Another possibility: your processor and RAM timings could be on the edge. Normally, everything is fine, but all of a sudden you hit a different address, and blammo.

It's easy to test. Go into your BIOS, make a note of the settings, and slow down the CPU clock and/or slow the RAM timing. (In general, you slow the RAM by adding clock cycles for each transfer - going to a higher number.)

Just make sure that you document your current settings well, so you can get back.

Then again, maybe there's a bug in the application...

Best of luck!
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 11:20 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I don't think there is much doubt it's the app. 32 bit works fine, old and new versions. I've uninstalled 8.1 With the black frames issue, I abandoned it. This build is actually behind 8.0c in some ways. thanks for your suggestions.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 10:37 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
I don't think there is much doubt it's the app.
To me that's always in doubt. ;)

For instance I have a nice quad core machine with a 4 drive RAID that runs Vegas fine, but every week or three, it just locks up when moving the mouse. However, I can always get the machine to die when scrubbing video with Premiere or After Effects. Always.

I'm pretty sure that Premiere and AE can scrub. Fortunately, I rarely use them, and when I do it's usually just for conversions and compatibility. And I avoid scrubbing with them. It's definitely my machine.

Fortunately, Vegas 8.0b has been solid - I can scrub to my heart's content, so I haven't bothered to track it down - yet.

With 64-bits, every driver is different from the 32-bit version, the OS is different, and the hardware is accessed differently. Trust nothing. ;)

That said, the black frames issue sounds like it's the app. (I assume that many users have reported the same problem?) Given that, going back to 32-bits makes sense. I'd do the same.

Best of luck with 8.1a. :)
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network